Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    to Change or not to Change

    This is a discussion on to Change or not to Change within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, I have Sky Q and a mini box, currently I am using BT fibre unlimited 76mbit with the ...

    1. #1
      k3v1n's Avatar
      k3v1n is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2015
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      to Change or not to Change

      Hi All,

      I have Sky Q and a mini box, currently I am using BT fibre unlimited 76mbit with the new Smart Hub (Which is fantastic), my question is thus, I am at the end of contract on my broadband and I am wondering how the sky q hub differs in terms of speed/reach over that of the BT Smart hub.

      My BT Smart hub is in the bottom floor on a three floor townhouse, for whatever reason the master socket is in the middle of the hallway near stairs so not ideally located, I had HH5 prior and it just about managed the signal to the house, but the new Smart hub was a total revelation reaching everywhere with a massive amount of signal.

      I know the Q hub has mesh networking, but my Q devices are all on the middle floor, but even at the farthest point in the house I am getting 800Mbit out of the connection to the BT Smart Hub over 5Ghz.

      I guess my question is, is it worth getting sky Q over the BT line other than the cost difference, which in terms is about 6 quid cheaper on sky.

      Just looking to see if anyone has had both and which they stuck with in terms of the devices ?

      Kind Regards
      K3v1n.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: to Change or not to Change

      My advice would be stick with the devil you know. The Sky Q hub is far better than its predecessors but I don't think it comes up to the Smart hubs performance.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      k3v1n (13-02-17)

    5. #3
      Ajk2812's Avatar
      Ajk2812 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Helens
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: to Change or not to Change

      Quote Originally Posted by k3v1n View Post
      Hi All,

      I have Sky Q and a mini box, currently I am using BT fibre unlimited 76mbit with the new Smart Hub (Which is fantastic), my question is thus, I am at the end of contract on my broadband and I am wondering how the sky q hub differs in terms of speed/reach over that of the BT Smart hub.

      My BT Smart hub is in the bottom floor on a three floor townhouse, for whatever reason the master socket is in the middle of the hallway near stairs so not ideally located, I had HH5 prior and it just about managed the signal to the house, but the new Smart hub was a total revelation reaching everywhere with a massive amount of signal.

      I know the Q hub has mesh networking, but my Q devices are all on the middle floor, but even at the farthest point in the house I am getting 800Mbit out of the connection to the BT Smart Hub over 5Ghz.

      I guess my question is, is it worth getting sky Q over the BT line other than the cost difference, which in terms is about 6 quid cheaper on sky.

      Just looking to see if anyone has had both and which they stuck with in terms of the devices ?

      Kind Regards
      K3v1n.
      Hello

      I have got sky fibre pro with the sky q hub.i dont think the wifi is that good on the hub and it only has two ethernet ports.im considering changing to bt infinity to get the smart hub

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Ajk2812 For This Useful Post:

      k3v1n (13-02-17)

    7. #4
      k3v1n's Avatar
      k3v1n is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2015
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: to Change or not to Change

      Thank you for your replies i did wonder, I guess the only reason to go sky would be A) the cost saving and B) the wifi mesh but if I am getting great signal im not really missing out on the B) for the hassle of switching to A) only to find it was worse i would kick myself I feel.
      Many thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION