Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13
    Like Tree3Likes

    Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

    This is a discussion on Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Just signed up to Sky Fibre, but I'm now reading stories online about how poor the free router is in ...

    1. #1
      resisnake's Avatar
      resisnake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      Just signed up to Sky Fibre, but I'm now reading stories online about how poor the free router is in terms of WiFi.

      Is it really as bad as people say? I'm coming from a BT Smart Hub.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      601
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      Quote Originally Posted by resisnake View Post
      Just signed up to Sky Fibre, but I'm now reading stories online about how poor the free router is in terms of WiFi.

      Is it really as bad as people say? I'm coming from a BT Smart Hub.

      Thanks
      It's not bad... but it's also not great......


      Suggestion - use the sky router with no wifi and use your current hub for the wifi.

      I got sick of my SR102 wifi and got a unifi : Ubiquiti UAP-AC-LITE UniFi AC1200 Simultaneous Dual-Band WiFi PoE Access Point (1200Mbps AC)

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,084
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      The WiFi with the Q Hub is a little better. For me the locked down GUI is more annoying.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      MarkC's Avatar
      MarkC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      OP - I switched on Monday, wired I get 37.5 down, wireless 17-20 using the SR102.

      Whilst some people replace the SR102 completely I'm erring more on the side of disabling the wifi and adding my own router. The Ubiquiti mentioned above looks good with many positive reviews for their products. More or less any router is going to work ok, but my concern is finding once that actually has decent wireless performance, otherwise its a waste of time!

      Angel_Rex - was the set up easy ? Am I right in thinking the cloud controller is just remote management of the device, which for home is pointless? They are 82 on amazon, tempted to go this way rather than buy a cheaper netgear/linksys/tp-link etc.

    6. #5
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      601
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      Quote Originally Posted by MarkC View Post
      OP - I switched on Monday, wired I get 37.5 down, wireless 17-20 using the SR102.

      Whilst some people replace the SR102 completely I'm erring more on the side of disabling the wifi and adding my own router. The Ubiquiti mentioned above looks good with many positive reviews for their products. More or less any router is going to work ok, but my concern is finding once that actually has decent wireless performance, otherwise its a waste of time!

      Angel_Rex - was the set up easy ? Am I right in thinking the cloud controller is just remote management of the device, which for home is pointless? They are 82 on amazon, tempted to go this way rather than buy a cheaper netgear/linksys/tp-link etc.

      I literally plugged it in. The hosted means you can connect from any device anywhere to block, manage, set up a new network, guest network. It really is amazing.

    7. #6
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      The SR102 and Sky Hub are bad not just because of the wifi but the fact you have so few options for configuration. No VPN server, No DNS, No QoS, No VLANS I could go on. If you don't want that sort of thing then at very least i would recommend a new AP and turn off the wifi on the sky Hub as said above.

      If you want to configure then you need to look elsewhere. There are lost of people on here running their own routers (me included). I'm sure you find losts of help in setting one up.

      My preference is to go for separate modem and router, that way you can tweak router setting with out effecting the connection, I see my connection go hundreds of days without a resync.

      Its an additional cost but i would highly recommend it
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    8. #7
      MarkC's Avatar
      MarkC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      I literally plugged it in. The hosted means you can connect from any device anywhere to block, manage, set up a new network, guest network. It really is amazing.

      Thanks, I've ordered it now, hopefully it'll be an improvement on the SR102.

      Just reading up about using a raspberry pi as a controller, don't really think I need it, but might have a go just for fun.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,084
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      Quote Originally Posted by nivek1612 View Post
      The SR102 and Sky Hub are bad not just because of the wifi but the fact you have so few options for configuration. No VPN server, No DNS, No QoS, No VLANS I could go on. If you don't want that sort of thing then at very least i would recommend a new AP and turn off the wifi on the sky Hub as said above.
      When was the last time you looked at the GUI for either the SR102 or Sky Q Hub?

      The latest firmware for the SR101, SR102 and Q Hub supports 3 different providers for DNS:


      • dyndns.org
      • noip.com
      • dyns.cs


      All routers will support a QoS. Of course Sky doesn't allow us to change the default configuration on any of their branded routers.

      Yes supporting a VPN server would be useful for many people.

      Most people wouldn't have a clue about handling a VLAN, let alone need one in the home environment.

      With the Q Hub Sky has actually jumped ahead of the market for WiFi. Supporting the WiFi Mesh was a first for Sky. This appears to be a little more successful than a simple WiFi Extender, which generated los of comments regarding performance.

      There are several areas where a Sky router could be improved. We'll all have different opinions, but please be accurate.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      Dynamic DNS yes but only three I use dynv6 for it IPv6 support

      But I'm talking DNS as in domain name servers - sky makenyou use theirs






      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
      Scubbie likes this.
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,084
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky Hub 2.0 Concerns

      Quote Originally Posted by nivek1612 View Post
      Dynamic DNS yes but only three I use dynv6 for it IPv6 support

      But I'm talking DNS as in domain name servers - sky makenyou use theirs
      Sorry for my misunderstanding, yes they do through the router, but you are free to set them manually on your devices.
      Angel_Rex likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION