Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18
    Like Tree4Likes

    Recommend me a router plz

    This is a discussion on Recommend me a router plz within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ah ok.. LOL @ the username I have decided to go with this little fella.. https://goo.gl/aiPPob Hopefully it'll work well ...

    1. #11
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion 8800AXL R2
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      230
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recommend me a router plz

      Ah ok..

      LOL @ the username

      I have decided to go with this little fella.. https://goo.gl/aiPPob

      Hopefully it'll work well and I'll have 35Mb (ish) WiFi in the required places.. Those required places only being about 12 feet from the router via a usually open hollow wooden door. Something
      which the SR102 router just can't handle properly. Sky really need to stop sending folk that garbage to use with a WiFi fibre package IMHO.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion 8800AXL R2
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      230
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recommend me a router plz

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      The 101/2 are not wifi AC, so they wont be very fast for anyone, even if you are sat next to it.

      You do not need to extract passwords anymore for sky fibre. The following would work:

      trumpsanutcase@skydsl|abcdef123456

      When you say there's no need to extract passwords for fibre anymore what do you mean?

      How does the router/modem log into sky servers?

    4. #13
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Recommend me a router plz

      You used to have to extract the username and password from your 101/102 etc and input that into the new router to enable the router to connect to Sky's servers.

      However any username and password will now connect as long as its in the same format that the sky servers need. Hence Marjohn56's suggestion in an post #10
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      orbiter (04-02-17)

    6. #14
      sparky678911's Avatar
      sparky678911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear R6300
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Recommend me a router plz

      Hi I am on sky fibre and just upgraded my router to the new nighthawk r8000 netgear and it is great my daughter is on the third floor router on ground floor and before was getting 10 - 20Mb wifi and now she getting 75Mb min it is a great bit of kit and I am very happy
      Scubbie likes this.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to sparky678911 For This Useful Post:

      orbiter (04-02-17)

    8. #15
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion 8800AXL R2
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      230
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recommend me a router plz

      Quote Originally Posted by sparky678911 View Post
      Hi I am on sky fibre and just upgraded my router to the new nighthawk r8000 netgear and it is great my daughter is on the third floor router on ground floor and before was getting 10 - 20Mb wifi and now she getting 75Mb min it is a great bit of kit and I am very happy
      Thanks for the reply sparky.. I actually ended up buying the Netgear D7800 (AC2600) Nighthawk which I'm very happy with. It's internal amplifiers really do work and like
      yours this thing really pushes out a signal with all computers in the building now getting the full 5 bars signal

      Cheers
      Scubbie and sparky678911 like this.

    9. #16
      neo_4789's Avatar
      neo_4789 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recommend me a router plz

      Did you have to do anything specific to get that working or did it work straight out of the box?

    10. #17
      pete.i's Avatar
      pete.i is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01757
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Freesat/etc
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Recommend me a router plz

      Quote Originally Posted by neo_4789 View Post
      Did you have to do anything specific to get that working or did it work straight out of the box?
      The six million dollar question Everybody who mentions alternative routers to use on Sky Fibre should say at the end of their posts whether or not these routers will or will not work on Sky fibre straight out of the box. It is quite easy to do just a simple "it works straight out of the box" or "it doesn't work straight out of the box."

    11. #18
      orbiter's Avatar
      orbiter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCFOM
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion 8800AXL R2
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      230
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recommend me a router plz

      The D7800 does not work straight out of the box.. But a few settings will get it going. See my post here...

      Known Working Third Party Routers With Sky Fibre


      Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION