Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Shonk

    Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci

    This is a discussion on Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; thinkbroadband :: Huawei VDSL2 cabinets give better speeds than ECI...

    1. #1
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci

      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci

      down to all them users on eci cabs with unmatched broadcom modems nothing more
      marjohn56 likes this.

    4. #3
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci

      I think G.Inp or lack thereof might also have something to do with it.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    5. #4
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci

      The article itself mentions the reason, g.inp is currently available on the Huawei/Broadcom cabinets.
      g.inp was tried on the ECI/Lantiq cabinets but withdrawn due to problems between some modem chipsets and the Lantiq chipset/ECI g.inp configuration.
      I understand Openreach has been working with ECI for a solution and g.inp is due to be rolled out to the ECI cabinets again in a couple of months.
      When it was tried last time Broadcom modems were slightly faster than Lantiq-chipset modems on ECI cabinets before g.inp was activated but slower afterwards.

    6. #5
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,805
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci

      Then all they need to do is fix the instability of the Lantiq based modems with the Huawei cabs, well at least in my case. Anything other than the OR modem goes nuts pretty quickly.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #6
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      386
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 34 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci

      Quote Originally Posted by AlexS View Post
      The article itself mentions the reason, g.inp is currently available on the Huawei/Broadcom cabinets.
      g.inp was tried on the ECI/Lantiq cabinets but withdrawn due to problems between some modem chipsets and the Lantiq chipset/ECI g.inp configuration.
      I understand Openreach has been working with ECI for a solution and g.inp is due to be rolled out to the ECI cabinets again in a couple of months.
      When it was tried last time Broadcom modems were slightly faster than Lantiq-chipset modems on ECI cabinets before g.inp was activated but slower afterwards.
      The main issue, amongst others, with the ECI G.Inp implementation was it got applied to stable lines on Fastpath leading to the drop in sync speed whereas those that already had interleaved connections saw a reasonable increase in sync as expected. My connection, which was on fastpath, dropped from 55 Mbps to 48 Mbos with G.Inp applied. G.Inp is going to be important when the new lower SNRM DLM profiles are introduced later on this year assuming they are applied to ECI kit as well.

      I hope they are reintroducing G.Inp on ECI because I have since moved and my line is quite slow and heavily interleaved and could do with a bit of a boost even if it's just a few Mbps.

    8. #7
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      713
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 52 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Official - huawe cabs are faster than eci

      If g.inp on eci cabs does come back its possible from some time in April. Hence the delay on 3,4 or 5 db snr on eci kit. I guess they need g.inp working first.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION