Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Not reaching full speed upstairs, new router solution?

    This is a discussion on Not reaching full speed upstairs, new router solution? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My Sky Fibre Max package was activated today and I set it all up at my only phone line location ...

    1. #1
      Fornever's Avatar
      Fornever is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Not reaching full speed upstairs, new router solution?

      My Sky Fibre Max package was activated today and I set it all up at my only phone line location positioned in my living room. I tested using Speedtest on one family member's laptop which is in a room right near the living room and got a 30mb result which was very promising.

      Then I tested my own laptop which is sat upstairs on the room at the opposite end of my house, and my download speed got cut down to about 7mbps, which I kind of expected. I changed the WiFi channel which boosted me to 12-13mbps, so I'm okay for now especially considering the vast improvement over my last connection.

      What I want to ask is, would buying a new third-party router and using that instead of the Sky Q Hub give me the blanket top speed over the whole house? Perhaps even more since Sky Fibre Max caps at 76mbps since it's still early days.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Not reaching full speed upstairs, new router solution?

      Is that a 5G connection or still 2.4G?

      My Q Hub is gathering dust so I don't know what band you are connected to it on.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,956
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Not reaching full speed upstairs, new router solution?

      You won't get a blanket top speed, wireless always degrades with distance/walls etc although some routers perform better than others.

    5. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Not reaching full speed upstairs, new router solution?

      Yes, however 5G is substantially faster than 2.4, and if the OP is only connecting on 2.4G it won't help.

      Best option is to either run a Cat5/6 cable to a wireless access point upstairs or if that's not possible, do as I and many others do, use powerline with a powerline wifi access point upstairs. I have a 5G access point in the loft which gives me good coverage over most of the ground floor, standard wooden floors and brick walls. I get around 55-60Mbps over wifi.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #5
      Fornever's Avatar
      Fornever is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not reaching full speed upstairs, new router solution?

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      You won't get a blanket top speed, wireless always degrades with distance/walls etc although some routers perform better than others.
      But my range should improve at least, right? Given how many third-party routers have larger / multiple antennae whereas ISP-provided routers are just boxes.

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Yes, however 5G is substantially faster than 2.4, and if the OP is only connecting on 2.4G it won't help.
      On the router settings page it shows the Desired Channels for both frequencies, so I guess I'm using both? There's also a box ticked which supposedly copies your 2.4G settings over to 5G if I recall correctly.

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      use powerline with a powerline wifi access point upstairs
      Which would you recommend?

    7. #6
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Not reaching full speed upstairs, new router solution?

      I use Devolo dLAN 1200+ devices, not cheap but they are very good in my experience. TP-Link also do similar devices, it's the same chipset and they are cheaper.

      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION