Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By supascoop

    New Sky Fibre not working

    This is a discussion on New Sky Fibre not working within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Firstly, apologies if I've posted this in the wrong forum! I had Sky fibre activated on the 20th October (migrating ...

    1. #1
      supascoop's Avatar
      supascoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky Fibre not working

      Firstly, apologies if I've posted this in the wrong forum!

      I had Sky fibre activated on the 20th October (migrating from the Sky Unlimited ADSL service - which worked perfectly) and thought something fishy was up cause the smiley face on my new hub was orange all day.

      I called Sky the day after and went through all the usual tests (cables, microfilters, dial tone, picture of the only phone socket I have in the house etc...) and Sky informed me they'd send a BT Engineer out. The BT Engineer arrived today, did some tests on the line and said "probably something to do with the cab", so off he toddles. I notice whilst he's away the smiley face goes off for about half hour, then comes back on and is still orange. He calls me to say it's a "sky fault" - possibly a faulty router or the sky "build" isn't in sync with BT's (whatever that means).

      I've called Sky and without any other questions they told me it was a faulty router and are going to send another one out. I'm not convinced this is the issue though...

      I'm a little sceptial having read a few other forums posts with people in similar predicament to myself and have had to cancel Sky and go elsewhere after weeks of nothing.

      My router stats are:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collision Pkts Tx b/s Rx b/s Up Time
      WAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      LAN Down 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00
      WLAN Up 12812 10196 0 0 0 05:05:44
      Broadband Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 39998 kbps 9995 kbps
      Line Attenuation 12.9 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 18.1 dB 17.17 dB

      Can anyone shed any light on this please?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,460
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      Did the new hub work on ADSL before the changeover to fibre or were you still using your Netgear router prior to migration?

    4. #3
      supascoop's Avatar
      supascoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Did the new hub work on ADSL before the changeover to fibre or were you still using your Netgear router prior to migration?
      Hi there. I was using the "old" Nether router for ADSL. The new black 2.0 hub I've installed as new. I noticed my old netgear router had an orange light on it on the 20th, so swapped them over

      - - - Updated - - -

      Netgear, not nether... :/

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,460
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      As your new hub has never worked it's quite possible that it was DoA (dead on arrival). While the problem may lie elsewhere short of borrowing someone else's known good Sky Hub (SR102) the only alternative is to test with the replacement hub when it arrives.

    6. #5
      supascoop's Avatar
      supascoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      Second router arrived this morning, same orange light. Spoke to Sky who said it's now with their CRT department? Anyone know what they do?

    7. #6
      supascoop's Avatar
      supascoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      Anyone else experienced something similar?

    8. #7
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,460
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      CRT?? CST is Customer Solutions Team. CRF is Customer Resolution Form.

      The agents answering the telephones have limited fault finding skills relying to a great extent on algorithms to diagnose faults.
      When this "first level" fault finding fails they raise a numbered ticket which is sent to the more skilful second level team which has been referred to by various names CST being one of them.

    9. #8
      supascoop's Avatar
      supascoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      CRT?? CST is Customer Solutions Team. CRF is Customer Resolution Form.

      The agents answering the telephones have limited fault finding skills relying to a great extent on algorithms to diagnose faults.
      When this "first level" fault finding fails they raise a numbered ticket which is sent to the more skilful second level team which has been referred to by various names CST being one of them.
      Managed to find this regarding a CRT team. It's a few years old, but makes sense considering the description of the role on it

      http://www.notgoingtouni.co.uk/advic...ceship-crt-342
      seawright likes this.

    10. #9
      supascoop's Avatar
      supascoop is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01792
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Location
      Swansea
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      It took over a week, but its finally working. Just in case anybody else gets similar problems, BT fixed this by resetting the fibre line

    11. #10
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,490
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre not working

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      CRT?? CST is Customer Solutions Team. CRF is Customer Resolution Form.

      The agents answering the telephones have limited fault finding skills relying to a great extent on algorithms to diagnose faults.
      When this "first level" fault finding fails they raise a numbered ticket which is sent to the more skilful second level team which has been referred to by various names CST being one of them.
      CRT are the team who do the CRF's. They are the first line support for these problems (technically second line, probably) and ascertain where the problems need to be escalated to (3rd line level) or whether they can be fixed by themselves as they have a higher level of system access.
      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of Sky

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to bubblegun For This Useful Post:

      seawright (30-10-16)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION