Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

    This is a discussion on ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys, I've recently switched from sky broadband to sky fibre. My previous setup was a Draytek Vigor 120 passing ...

    1. #1
      SilverSurfa's Avatar
      SilverSurfa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      Hey guys,

      I've recently switched from sky broadband to sky fibre. My previous setup was a Draytek Vigor 120 passing through to an Asus RT-AC68U, the setup worked perfectly, I have a NAS connected to my network and had remote drive setup working through a private SSL certificate, all that jive.

      Switching to fibre, I've completed the merlin firmware update to the Asus, all other Asus settings are correct as per the instructions I've read online. The Asus even says 'connected to Internet'. However I cannot get online!!

      I suspect my issue is with the Draytek Vigor 120. Some forums say it won't work with Sky Fibre, some say it does...

      Now for my question,

      What is the best 'Passthrough' modem/router to buy to replace the Vigor 120 and the interface with my Asus? I've read the BT open reach huwai's work, but I want something that is 'future proof' and can handle ultra fibre speeds in the future.

      Thanks for your time reading and responding!


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Hacked ECI Modem/pFsense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      513
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      HG612 which then can be unlocked for access to line stats, you can then use any cable router that can use DDWRT or Merlin's(and others) fork and some clever bugger even made fork of Merlin for different makes of router such as netgear.

    4. #3
      SilverSurfa's Avatar
      SilverSurfa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      Thanks Coipu, ref the BT open reach huwai HG612; is there a more upmarket device that works better than this? What makes this device the best recommendation? Thanks.


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      Don't let the low price these are available for on ebay fool you. New these modems cost more than 50 and were specifically designed to work with BTO Fibre. Any others that are available, with the exception of the ECI also designed for BTO, could be difficult to set up.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      SilverSurfa's Avatar
      SilverSurfa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      Ok thank you for the input, for completeness I'm looking to compare, does the Billion 8800NL R2 also perform the required function as a front end fibre modem with Passthrough to my Asus?


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    7. #6
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      Find out what type of dslam you are on

      Then get an
      Huawai openreach modem if on an Huawai dslam
      or
      ECI openreach modem / Draytek Vigor 130 if on an ECI dslam

      THe Draytek vigor 130 is basicly just an ECI openreach modem with
      a gigabit port and access to stats

      so if you have no interest in line stats if on an ECI dslam go with the openreach modem

    8. #7
      gmangt4's Avatar
      gmangt4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Jun 2016
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      As Shonk says, either get a BTO modem from a well known auction site or a Vigor 130, I had the Vigor 130 and the AC68U on sky fibre, the Vigor 120 does not work on sky fibre, I moved property and no fibre available as I'm on an EO line, so tried the 120 and the 130 but lost too much bandwidth with them so now use the SkyQ router with an Asus as a WAP. Although a netgear with the same chipset as the Sky router syncs at the same but have to telnet the MTU and miss the options of the Asus. Mainly the QOS.
      My 2nd hand BTO modem and the vigor 130 both sync'd at the same level.

    9. #8
      SilverSurfa's Avatar
      SilverSurfa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      Great info and thanks for the replies, I think my options are narrowed down to the Draytek Vigor 130 and the HG612, I have the Vigor 120, so my natural inclination is to choose the Vigor 130, gmangt4 has comparable line speed front the BTO and the 130. So sounds like my choice is ok. Any other inputs welcome!


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    10. #9
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      if you go with a vigor 130 you will have to add a script (services-start) on the asus to access the line stats

      here's mine (with the vigor's ip as 192.168.100.1)

      Code:
      #!/bin/sh
      
      ifconfig eth0:1 192.168.100.2
      
      exit
      here's what it looks like in the menu's and cli


    11. #10
      SilverSurfa's Avatar
      SilverSurfa is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ASUS RT-AC68U Sky Fibre which Passthrough Router

      Shonk that's very useful, I'll figure it out once my 130 arrives, today by Amazon Prime .

      Shonk can you share the Vigor 130 config that you use? This will be useful for everyone who searches and finds this thread. Thanks!


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION