Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

    This is a discussion on Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I am considering switching to Sky Fibre Unlimited from Virgin Media. I would like to see everyones Broadband Quality ...

    1. #1
      b4z's Avatar
      b4z
      b4z is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      Hello,

      I am considering switching to Sky Fibre Unlimited from Virgin Media.

      I would like to see everyones Broadband Quality Monitor graphs, so i have a better idea about the Sky Fibre, specifically the latency and jitter!

      I currently have Virgin Media 50mb and I am getting annoyed by their latency and jitter to the point that i want to switch ISP.

      I know it might sound silly but I am very sensitive to latency and jitter when gaming and it really does make a difference to me.

      I read the Ofcom November 2015 report which put Sky at one of the lowest for latency and jitter.

      So could everyone who has a Broadand Quality Monitor set up for their Sky Fibre post their Live Graph please?

      Thanks very much!

      Here is my Broadband Quality Monitor graph for my Virgin Media 50mb: [edited in after]

      Last edited by b4z; 08-05-16 at 11:36 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,167
      Thanks
      839
      Thanked 2,220 Times in 2,089 Posts

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      Hello b4z and welcome to the forums. Your graph didn't come out well, so here it is:




      I stopped my own the other day for reasons that I'll mention at a later date. However here's mine from last month. The pattern has been pretty much the same since I moved to SFUP a few years ago:



      The only time mine changes is when I'm downloading lots of Linux distros or the line is re-profiled. The yellow spikes are 'normal' on a Sky connection and don't affect things.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,351
      Thanks
      372
      Thanked 158 Times in 152 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      I don't use BQM, but UDP latency as measured by SamKnows is averaged over the past 12 months at 8.56ms.
      Highest single monthly average over the past 12 months was 8.99ms.
      Lowest single monthly average over the past 12 months was 8.45ms.
      The highest spike I can see during the past 12 months was 14.15ms (in November 2015).
      Hope that helps!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #4
      b4z's Avatar
      b4z
      b4z is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      Thanks for the replies

      I have a few questions:

      Is there a reason why the FTTC>VDSL [bt/sky/etc] has seemingly substantially lower latency and jitter fluctuation [of the blue and yellow areas] when compared to FTTC>DOCSIS [virgin]?

      Because almost every BQM graph i have seen (whilst researching and from the one you posted) makes VDSL look fantastic in that regard when compared to Virgin.

      Could the way Virgin setup their network of DOCSIS play a role? Or could it be congestion/oversubscription?

      Is Sky Fibre Unlimited vs Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro noticeably different when it comes to latency and jitter? Is the latter prioritised over the former? or is the difference negligible?
      Last edited by b4z; 08-05-16 at 12:35 PM.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,167
      Thanks
      839
      Thanked 2,220 Times in 2,089 Posts

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      They use a totally different system.

      My connection from my home to the cabinet uses a copper cable that only I use. Once at the cabinet, the connection goes over a shared Fibre link to the exchange where it is then routed via the ISP kit on to Sky's servers. Whilst the connection might use a suitable Ethernet lead in the exchange, once it leaves the exchange it should be back on Fibre.

      I'm not familiar enough to give enough specific information about VM's DOCSIS system. However more people share the local infrastructure locally, which means that it other customers are hammering their connections or there are simply too many people on the local set up, then your connection will be hampered.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      b4z's Avatar
      b4z
      b4z is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      My absolute primary concern is low latency and low jitter.

      I just hope that if/when i switch from Virgin Media to Sky Fibre Unlimited that i see an improvement.

      Because it seems to me like the Virgin Media network is built with Bandwidth as the primary concern and not Latency/Jitter [i could be wrong of course].

      And by seeing Broadband Quality Monitors it helps me to see what an up-to-date Sky Fibre connection looks like.

      My friend has BT fibre and his ping is always 10-12ms lower than mine to European servers on the games we play.

      I am also worried about the DLM and Interleaving on VDSL which seems to jack the latency up, so i guess i have to pray that my line will be good.
      Last edited by b4z; 09-05-16 at 03:32 PM.

    8. #7
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,351
      Thanks
      372
      Thanked 158 Times in 152 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      Unfortunately, as you don't yet have a BT line to your property, it's hard to know what the line quality will be like for broadband service. Will it be overhead or underground? How old is the cable and how hacked about is it? Is it copper wire or (yikes!) aluminium? Distance to the DSLAM cabinet (rather than the exchange) is also critical to how close your speed is likely to be to the maximums available. And also how "subscribed" the DSLAM cabinet is in terms of the level of any crosstalk. That's just the "last mile" aspects, we haven't even considered the backhaul from the exchange to the core network, the core network itself in terms of routing and peering etc. So many factors can affect the performance of your connection, but it's almost impossible to pre-determine whether you will get a better or worse experience than VM. Perhaps it's just a case of trying various ISPs and moving on until landing on "the one"?!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    9. #8
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      753
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      Fibre pro. Line length about 320m. Sync around 62/20 on eci cab no g.inp

      thinkbroadband :: Broadband Quality Monitor
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats

    10. #9
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      753
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      Fibre pro. Line length about 320m. Sync around 62/20 on eci cab no g.inp

      thinkbroadband :: Broadband Quality Monitor
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats

    11. #10
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Can i see everyone's Broadband Quality Monitor graphs please?

      https://f8lure.mouselike.org/index.a...ying-beast.net

      That's *mostly* my Sky fttc line other than when the dyndns pickups up my other IP (I need to move that to the router now I've split it to have 2 routers, it was running on a PI with a policy route pointing out towards the sky line)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION