Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky FTTC very low speed

    This is a discussion on Sky FTTC very low speed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; in July this year i signed up for Sky FTTC unlimited and had a speed coming into my premises of ...

    1. #1
      crakayl's Avatar
      crakayl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: shotts
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky FTTC very low speed

      in July this year i signed up for Sky FTTC unlimited and had a speed coming into my premises of 15mbps, after the initial 10 days it dropped to 14mbps this lasted for about 2 months and all was fine no dropouts etc. then my speed dropped to 6mbps, when a BT engineer came he reset my profile and the speed coming into my premises was 10mbps with my actual speed 8 or 9mbps.

      i know these speeds for FTTC are really slow because i stay some distance from the FTTC cabinet but my question is if i was getting speeds of 15mbps into my premises in July of this year and all was well, why is it now set to 10mbps top speed from this fibre cabinet ?

      can anyone help please.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Sky FTTC very low speed-capture.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,460
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky FTTC very low speed

      Hi crakayl and welcome to the forum.
      There may have been some degradation of your line that has happened since your FTTC was originally installed. This may be external to your property or could be due to your internal wiring. It is also possible that other changes could have occurred whereby your line is picking up radio noise that wasn't previously present.

      1. Have you noticed any changes in noise level on telephone calls?
      2. Have you performed a quiet line test?
      3. Do you have a filtered faceplate or are you using microfilters?
      4. Could you post your line stats including line attenuation and noise margin as well as speeds?
      5. If your master socket has a test socket could you connect your modem to this and post the line stats if different from previous values?

    4. #3
      crakayl's Avatar
      crakayl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: shotts
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky FTTC very low speed

      Thanks for the quick reply there is no noise levels on phone.
      quiet line test ok
      new filtered faceplate fitted
      REIN test showed no interference inside or outside premises done by BT Openreach last week.

      would i get my line stats etc from the router page ?

      from the fibre cabinet to our homes has a mixture of aluminium and copper cable which i know are causing problems especially the aluminium cable. where i stay there is 4 areas in the town 3 of the areas have brand new dedicated FTTC boxes yet the area i stay has none this is why i am connected to one of the other FTTC boxes in our town. Mr Dick from BT has stated in a email to myself through my MSP that it is feasible to install a FTTC box in my area but BT has no plans to do so.
      Mr Brendan Dick MD, BT Regions
      Director, BT Scotland

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,460
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky FTTC very low speed

      Quote Originally Posted by crakayl View Post
      would i get my line stats etc from the router page ?
      See link:
      How to get your Sky Router statistics

      where i stay there is 4 areas in the town 3 of the areas have brand new dedicated FTTC boxes yet the area i stay has none this is why i am connected to one of the other FTTC boxes in our town. Mr Dick from BT has stated in a email to myself through my MSP that it is feasible to install a FTTC box in my area but BT has no plans to do so.
      Mr Brendan Dick MD, BT Regions
      Director, BT Scotland
      You're lucky BT refuse to connect me to another cabinet even though there is an FTTC enabled cabinet within 100 Metres of the one my line is connected to.

    6. #5
      crakayl's Avatar
      crakayl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: shotts
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky FTTC very low speed

      Sky FTTC very low speed-line-stats-.jpgi have attached the line stats. thanks

    7. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,460
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky FTTC very low speed

      With a downstream noise margin of 12.9dBs there is scope for a downstream speed increase as long as the line remains stable (there can be stability issues with copper and aluminium mixed lines). Provided that DLM wasn't locked during reprofiling increases should occur within two to three weeks. This assumes that DLM controls downstream and upstream independently, there may be other readers that can confirm this.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      crakayl (28-11-15)

    9. #7
      crakayl's Avatar
      crakayl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: shotts
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky FTTC very low speed

      Thank you for the information Sir, my profile was reset on the 11th November so i suppose there is still scope for it to go up through time.

      can i ask why would the DLM be locked during re-profiling ?

    10. #8
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,460
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky FTTC very low speed

      If the noise margin drops close to zero then the connection will be lost. DLM would normally attempt to provide a sufficiently high margin to prevent this happening. Around 6dB is standard but on a stable quiet line it could be as low as 3dBs. Some lines can be so unstable that the DLM process fails. In this situation, if the stability of the line cannot be improved, locking the noise margin at a sufficiently high value can minimise disconnections but speed will suffer as a result. Where DSLAMs are fitted in street cabinets, as is the case with FTTC, I am not sure how much control Sky has over them hence the remark at the end of my previous post.

    11. #9
      crakayl's Avatar
      crakayl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: shotts
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky FTTC very low speed

      Thank you for all your replies they have been really helpful in getting me to understand how all this works, i really appreciate your time and knowledge. thanks again.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION