Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 32

    Asus Routers

    This is a discussion on Asus Routers within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So the Asus Routers with built in modems don't work with sky fibre, even if you flash the merlin firmware?...

    1. #11
      McBoffin's Avatar
      McBoffin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinhoe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      So the Asus Routers with built in modems don't work with sky fibre, even if you flash the merlin firmware?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      Quote Originally Posted by McBoffin View Post
      Excuse the noob question - but what's wrong with that one - other than it won't work?
      Very unstable, you have no better than a 50/50 chance of it behaving itself if your line is less than 100% perfect, and even then its touch and go.

      - - - Updated - - -

      You cannot flash ANY of the modem/routers at present, whether they are Asus or Netgear. The Asus dsl-ac86 has problems with its modem, doesnt matter which ISP you use.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #13
      McBoffin's Avatar
      McBoffin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinhoe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Very unstable, you have no better than a 50/50 chance of it behaving itself if your line is less than 100% perfect, and even then its touch and go.

      - - - Updated - - -

      You cannot flash ANY of the modem/routers at present, whether they are Asus or Netgear. The Asus dsl-ac86 has problems with its modem, doesnt matter which ISP you use.
      So an OR modem plus the AC68U should work a treat?

      Out of curiousity, why can't these routers be flashed at the moment?

      or back to one of my hidden original questions - is there another brand of router with decent parental controls for lots of devices. I did try a reasonable netgear router but it lacked flexibility.

    5. #14
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      It's not the routers that cannot be flashed, its the modem/router combos'. Theres Not enough demand from the open router community I suspect is the reason there's no firmware to flash them with.

      The ac68 and the OR modem is a very good setup. The only other router/modem combo that works with Sky and comes near in terms of that sort of configurability would probably be the Draytek Vigor 2860*. Very pricey though for the AC WiFi version and mine had issues when it rained, I know that sounds weird but its down to my US SNR dropping when the weather gets bad, my D7000 has no 'weather' issues though.

      There are other modem/router combos', most will not work with option61 as used by Sky.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #15
      McBoffin's Avatar
      McBoffin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinhoe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      Really stupid question here. Does the OR modem just plug into the filter?

    7. #16
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      Well, I hope you have a VDSL faceplate, but yes, DSL in Ethernet out.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    8. #17
      McBoffin's Avatar
      McBoffin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinhoe
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Nov 2015
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      The faceplate is fairly new as a BT engineer installed it about a year ago and it's got an open reach logo on it.

      Im guessing it's fine as Fibre seems to be working through the current set up fine.

      ----------

      i just searched what a VDSL faceplate looks like. My face plate doesn't look like that but I'm using filters instead. Is that ok? The BT chap last week didn't say it wouldn't work with fibre.

      Now im all confused. Time for a nap.

    9. #18
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      If its working now with filters then go with it. I know when I had fibre installed they changed my faceplate and I don't have a filter.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    10. #19
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER or is it?
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Lede on ECI Modem/pFsense
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      519
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 38 Times in 36 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      The latest Merlin allows you to control individual bandwidth speed limiter/monitor app usage/apply different dns to each kid. as well as monitor everywhere the visit online (if anyone uses win 10 it will be a long list every time they log on) and even apply different vpns to different clients. Network filters for porn/skype/youtube etc... are built right into the gui. Spend the money buy a huawei or modem and you can even check your line stats too. This works well if you like to fiddle as you can reboot your router all day long without affecting your connection.

    11. #20
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Asus Routers

      If I ever change my modem/router again I suspect it will be for an Asus/OR combo.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION