Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26
    Like Tree2Likes

    Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

    This is a discussion on Can someone suggest a router for my connection? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The only feature I would like would be OpenVPN and something that's a nice improvement over the horrible SR102. Line ...

    1. #1
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      The only feature I would like would be OpenVPN and something that's a nice improvement over the horrible SR102. Line stats. (And yes it's FTTC, the cabinet is faaar away.) You are approximately 1.11km from the exchange.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      D7000 as used by yours truly supports OpenVPN, doesn't support iOS devices at present. That SHOULD appear in a firmware update shortly....
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    4. #3
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      Would that be D7000-100UKS? The netgear router for 165 on Amazon?

    5. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      That'll be the beasty....
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to marjohn56 For This Useful Post:

      Ewol (12-10-15)

    7. #5
      aciidsn3ak3r's Avatar
      aciidsn3ak3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Asus RT-AC66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      Or go for an Openreach separate modem and Asus RT-AC66U with Merlin firmware.

      I prefer the separate approach personally.

      Takes a little longer to setup but it's worth it, I got my router for 80 off eBay, the modem I already had but you can get those pretty cheap too.

    8. #6
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      How much would one expect to pay for an Openreach modem ? and man I'm kicking myself I used to have one when I lived in Manchester.

    9. #7
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      Just looked... there's a mug selling a Huawie for 19 on ebay if you're quick.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    10. #8
      aciidsn3ak3r's Avatar
      aciidsn3ak3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYCSG
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Asus RT-AC66U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      It depends if its locked or unlocked. I wouldn't both with the unlocked unless you're really geeky and want line stats from the modem etc.

      I have a locked one and works fine.

    11. #9
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      Is the reason separate modem is preferred because it's just a better modem than what's in those dual router/modems? or is there security benefits or other reasons?

    12. #10
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      Usually it's if you want to be able to play around with your router, rebooting it etc. Doing so on a combined devices can cause the DLM to get upset and start punishing you in attempt to stabilise the line. I tend not to keep rebooting my D7000, I've set it up - that's it so I am not worried by that issue. With a seperate modem, you can reboot the router to your hearts content but the VDSL link stays up, so no response from the DLM.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by aciidsn3ak3r View Post
      It depends if its locked or unlocked. I wouldn't both with the unlocked unless you're really geeky and want line stats from the modem etc.

      I have a locked one and works fine.
      Yes but it's Huawei, so it's a firmware hack, no need for a soldering iron. Apart from that there is an issue with G.Inp on the ECI modems I believe, there's certainly an issue with G.Inp on ECI cabs.

      I've got an OR modem and a seperate router ( well two! ) that sit on my shelf just in case the D7000 falls over.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION