Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26
    Like Tree2Likes

    Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

    This is a discussion on Can someone suggest a router for my connection? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If the modem in the D7000 is stable/good enough I might just go with that as I'm not sure I ...

    1. #11
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      If the modem in the D7000 is stable/good enough I might just go with that as I'm not sure I can be bothered messing with things.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      I actually just went and bought that 19 one. (Hopefully I bought the right one) Even if I don't decide to use it, I guess it's handy to have a backup. So if I do go this route is the Asus RT-AC66U the router of choice ?

    4. #13
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      Any router you like that will support or can be flashed to support Sky's option 61/60. The Asus AC66U is a fine router, you'll need to flash it with Merlin/DD-WRT firmware to get option 60/61.

      It really depends now on what features you want. You've got the HG612, so you can go down many paths now. Important factors are Wifi + Guest Wifi, VPN & VLAN ( if you need them ), Firewall options etc.

      Decide what you need/want, apart from your first OpenVPN request and take if from there.

      - - - Updated - - -
      Quote Originally Posted by Ewol View Post
      If the modem in the D7000 is stable/good enough I might just go with that as I'm not sure I can be bothered messing with things.
      Well, put it this way, I have had no problems with mine. It's probably the most boring router in the world. Set it up and forget about it. To make it more interesting I'm running DLSStats and MyDSLWebstats just so I can see what's going on day to day... not much changes there either.

      It's got damn good WiFi though and it looks cool!
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    5. #14
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      Would there be any reason to choose the RT-AC68U over the RT-AC66U?

    6. #15
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      Quote Originally Posted by Ewol View Post
      Would there be any reason to choose the RT-AC68U over the RT-AC66U?
      Erm, not as far as I can see, unless you have a lot of clients connected.

      RT-AC66U vs RT-AC68U - Which Asus Router is Better?
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #16
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      68U has a USB 3 port. I'm not sure if I need this or not, I don't think I do. What possible uses is there for this? As for clients, 1 PC (PC will be using the ethernet) 1 Laptop and 3 phones, Xbox one and possibly the sky box.

    8. #17
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      What about the Asus RT-N66U or ASUS RT-AC56U as possible cheaper options? Just wondering because a lot of these look overkill for my needs, but I could be wrong.

    9. #18
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      I have an RT AC56U as one of my backups. It also occasionally does service as a PPTP VPN server for my wifes iPad. Nice little device and works well with 3rd party firmware, not hard to setup option 61 for Sky either. WiFi range is not the best though.

      USB3 would be if you are planning on connecting a hard drive to it for use as a file server of sorts.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    10. #19
      Ewol's Avatar
      Ewol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      I went and bought the RT-AC66U. It was 109 from pcworld.

      Thanks for all your help. I'll let you know how I get on.

    11. #20
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Can someone suggest a router for my connection?

      I own the RT-AC66U
      the radio's are the same as the RT-AC68U

      but it only has a 600mhz Mips 74k CPU

      RT-AC56U and RT-AC68U have Duel Core 800mhz Arm Cpu's
      that can be overclocked to 1000 Mhz if you know what your doing

      So much faster for openvpn/pptp

      My RT-AC66U is capable of around 42mbit With a 128Bit PPTP VPN (Overclocked to 662Mhz)

      Also the RT-AC68U runs on a far newer broadcom sdk
      so has more wifi features exposed

      e.g. if you want any 5ghz channels apart from 40-48 on the RT-AC66U you
      have to hack your bootloader to region #a (test mode)

      If i had to do it again i would have gone for the RT-AC56U if trying to save cash
      or the RT-AC68U if i wasnt

      Quite simply for the faster cpu
      and tbh 3x3 AC Devices are like hen's teeth
      so the RT-AC56U is just fine for 99.9% of situations


      #a bootloader
      Last edited by Shonk; 12-10-15 at 08:25 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION