Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16
    Like Tree1Likes

    Just a though...Why don't Sky Issue a list of approved FTTC routers

    This is a discussion on Just a though...Why don't Sky Issue a list of approved FTTC routers within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I can to a degree understand the username password combo being preset into the routers, it means you can post ...

    1. #11
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Just a though...Why don't Sky Issue a list of approved FTTC routers

      I can to a degree understand the username password combo being preset into the routers, it means you can post them to the client, plug 'em in and hey presto. The fact that those who are technically able to get around this by using wireshark is perhaps a good thing, in the fact it is only those with a degree of technical ability who will attempt it, thus saving Sky the hassle I suppose.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Just a though...Why don't Sky Issue a list of approved FTTC routers

      If sky wanted they could have pretty easily blocked 3rd party routers by a MAC whitelist system, (which is what virgin media do).

      So my guess is sky are willing to allow 3rd party devices, they just wont make it official so its easier to support the service.

      I see both sides of the argument.

      The merit for sky locking down is that.

      1 - they can ensure is an approved openreach device (yes this is in the FTTC sin's, although other isp's have took liberties).
      2 - As they control the CPE, they can disregard blaming the customer equipment on fault's.
      3 - It makes support easier for their staff.


      So where I stand is as long as sky turn a blind eye it doesnt bother me too much, obviously if I report a broadband fault I will have to temporarily use the sky hub again to keep them happy, but thats something I have accepted.

    4. #13
      nivek1612's Avatar
      nivek1612 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Armitage
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTC 80/20
      Router: OPNsense and Billion 8800NL v1
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb+2xMini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      293
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Just a though...Why don't Sky Issue a list of approved FTTC routers

      Quote Originally Posted by chrcol View Post
      If sky wanted they could have pretty easily blocked 3rd party routers by a MAC whitelist system, (which is what virgin media do).

      So my guess is sky are willing to allow 3rd party devices, they just wont make it official so its easier to support the service.

      I see both sides of the argument.

      The merit for sky locking down is that.

      1 - they can ensure is an approved openreach device (yes this is in the FTTC sin's, although other isp's have took liberties).
      2 - As they control the CPE, they can disregard blaming the customer equipment on fault's.
      3 - It makes support easier for their staff.


      So where I stand is as long as sky turn a blind eye it doesnt bother me too much, obviously if I report a broadband fault I will have to temporarily use the sky hub again to keep them happy, but thats something I have accepted.

      Well put
      I want control so I use a non sky router (HG612 and Airport Extreme) and they don't block it and seem to turn a bling eye . Win Win
      ------------------------------------------------------------------------

      Life is what happens while your making plans


    5. #14
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Just a though...Why don't Sky Issue a list of approved FTTC routers

      What about MAC spoofing?

      They could do it by using TR-069 to keep a track but TR-069 has many vulnerabilities to hackers so probably not the best idea.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #15
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Just a though...Why don't Sky Issue a list of approved FTTC routers

      I'm happy they don't enforce their T&C's too much. I have rung them in the past looking for support, and it is clearly obvious that they are working from a script because she knew what "router" I had.. (Ahem) and was following the relevant instructions for that.

      Luckily it turned out to be a local cabling issue at my end - so it goes to show.

      As I've tinkered more and more - it'd be actually really hard to re-adapt my network back to one of their routers... The day they enforce the Sky routers - the day I disconnect.
      Scubbie likes this.

    7. #16
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      387
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Just a though...Why don't Sky Issue a list of approved FTTC routers

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      The day they enforce the Sky routers - the day I disconnect.
      Same here. I don't have a working Sky router anyway because there's no way I'm paying 70 for an SR102 to replace the old Sagem that expired in a cloud of smoke.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION