Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 82
    Like Tree3Likes

    Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

    This is a discussion on Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; G.Inp is not required by Sky. G.Inp is a form of error correction applied to VDSL . Option 61/60 is ...

    1. #11
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      G.Inp is not required by Sky. G.Inp is a form of error correction applied to VDSL . Option 61/60 is what Sky needs and that's where you entered your username and password. Option 60 too I hope.

      It's often referred to as MER but it isn't.
      Scubbie likes this.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      G.Inp is not required by Sky. G.Inp is a form of error correction applied to VDSL . Option 61/60 is what Sky needs and that's where you entered your username and password. Option 60 too I hope.

      It's often referred to as MER but it isn't.
      Hi ... thanks for the info... all good stuff.

      All those things you mentioned are in the update info for the latest firmware except cant see where the 'option 61/60' comes in?

      Anyway, the new firmware seems to do the trick and other than changing the log in password for the VR900, I think all I needed to add was my Sky usernam/password and basically, the box configured the rest itself :-)

      It's nice to be free of the SR102. I'll just keep that in it's box ... just in case I ever need it. Also, with luck, TP-Link will add more features and functions to future firmware updates, but at least this one means that the VR900 is a go'er with Sky Fibre Broadband :-)

    4. #13
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      Username password is option 61 or vendor identifier string, thats what tplink have added to enable sky connections. Option 60 or vendor class identifier string should also have been added as netgear have done. Some say its not needed but I have always entered it on my routers and never had any problems, maybe it isn't needed but it certainly does not hurt to have it, and that's what the sky routers send.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to marjohn56 For This Useful Post:

      sam_skyuser (11-10-15)

    6. #14
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Username password is option 61 or vendor identifier string, thats what tplink have added to enable sky connections. Option 60 or vendor class identifier string should also have been added as netgear have done. Some say its not needed but I have always entered it on my routers and never had any problems, maybe it isn't needed but it certainly does not hurt to have it, and that's what the sky routers send.
      Thanks for the info... I guess the VR900 has both now then with the new firmware? The box offered the usual two boxes to enter the username/password combo (think it also asked to confirm by typing the password in again?... cant remember for sure?). It took what seemed about 30 seconds or so to authenticate against Sky's servers then the 'connected' status light appeared on the front and was also confirmed in the VR900's UI.

      I dont know when TP-Link introduced the VR900, but it looks like the original firmware date is from April 2015 and with the latest firmware being the second (maybe 3rd?) one released to the public.

      Having things like the ability to plug in a 3g/4g dongle seems a nice touch too. I guess handy if you ever needed a backup internet connection?

      Thanks :-)

    7. #15
      SteakNinja's Avatar
      SteakNinja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton, Bedfordshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      Quote Originally Posted by sam_skyuser View Post
      First thing I did was to flash the VR900 with the latest firmware that supports the Sky fibre network (Sky vdsl connection is in the listing now of ISP's when you first set up the device ) and then I entered my username and password that I'd previously extracted from the SR102 (using WireShark )
      Apologies for reviving this thread... :P

      I am testing a few current VDSL routers on my home Sky connection, for performance. Among the contenders is the Archer VR900.
      Its worth noting now that the 'Latest' firmware published 10/12/15 appears to be a non-UK firmware, and as such does not support many of the ISPs in the UK.
      Firmware published on 11/11/15 does appear to be valid for Sky(MER) ISP.

      ...That being said...

      Sadly i have had massive trouble connecting still
      When connecting to the Sky line with the ASUS DSL-AC68U, the connection process was really great...
      Infact, the Broadband Username worked as 'anything@skydsl' and 'anything@btbroadband.com', no Password.
      Now, i did try my supposed personal Username etc. with zero success with the VR900.

      I suppose my question is, if the ASUS can negotiate Sky's VDSL without a specific U-Name/Pass, can anyone here theorise why the TP-Link would have so much trouble even with the firmware update?

      I realise this is a Sky specific Forum, and it sounds like a TP-Link issue, but just wanted to get some thoughts from people who have already seemingly tackled this issue.

      Thanks

    8. #16
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      753
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      Hi

      This is slightly off topic but I wondered if you are seeing any difference in sync speeds between the standard sr102 if you have one and the vr900.. I just bought a d7000 which works great out of the box but its syncing lower than the sr102 so I am interested to know how the vr900 compares sync speed wise if you are able to see.

      cheers


      Quote Originally Posted by SteakNinja View Post
      Apologies for reviving this thread... :P

      I am testing a few current VDSL routers on my home Sky connection, for performance. Among the contenders is the Archer VR900.
      Its worth noting now that the 'Latest' firmware published 10/12/15 appears to be a non-UK firmware, and as such does not support many of the ISPs in the UK.
      Firmware published on 11/11/15 does appear to be valid for Sky(MER) ISP.

      ...That being said...

      Sadly i have had massive trouble connecting still
      When connecting to the Sky line with the ASUS DSL-AC68U, the connection process was really great...
      Infact, the Broadband Username worked as 'anything@skydsl' and 'anything@btbroadband.com', no Password.
      Now, i did try my supposed personal Username etc. with zero success with the VR900.

      I suppose my question is, if the ASUS can negotiate Sky's VDSL without a specific U-Name/Pass, can anyone here theorise why the TP-Link would have so much trouble even with the firmware update?

      I realise this is a Sky specific Forum, and it sounds like a TP-Link issue, but just wanted to get some thoughts from people who have already seemingly tackled this issue.

      Thanks
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    9. #17
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      753
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      My vr900 needed sky username and password plus the mac address gained from sr102. Without all that info it would not logon.
      Router is on Version:0.9.1 1.3 v004c.0 Build 151210 Rel.60969n*

      =SteakNinja;458516]Apologies for reviving this thread... :P



      I am testing a few current VDSL routers on my home Sky connection, for performance. Among the contenders is the Archer VR900.
      Its worth noting now that the 'Latest' firmware published 10/12/15 appears to be a non-UK firmware, and as such does not support many of the ISPs in the UK.
      Firmware published on 11/11/15 does appear to be valid for Sky(MER) ISP.

      ...That being said...

      Sadly i have had massive trouble connecting still
      When connecting to the Sky line with the ASUS DSL-AC68U, the connection process was really great...
      Infact, the Broadband Username worked as 'anything@skydsl' and 'anything@btbroadband.com', no Password.
      Now, i did try my supposed personal Username etc. with zero success with the VR900.

      I suppose my question is, if the ASUS can negotiate Sky's VDSL without a specific U-Name/Pass, can anyone here theorise why the TP-Link would have so much trouble even with the firmware update?

      I realise this is a Sky specific Forum, and it sounds like a TP-Link issue, but just wanted to get some thoughts from people who have already seemingly tackled this issue.

      Thanks
      Last edited by Isitme; 17-01-16 at 12:42 PM. Reason: Fixed 'qote'
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    10. #18
      SteakNinja's Avatar
      SteakNinja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton, Bedfordshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      Ah, i didnt try the MAC. I will give it a go at some point and get back to you if it helped.

      but I wondered if you are seeing any difference in sync speeds between the standard sr102 if you have one and the vr900
      What do you mean by Sych Speeds?
      I have a 101, but will be testing a 102 soon.

    11. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      Sync speed is the speed you see on the router stats, not the actual download speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #20
      SteakNinja's Avatar
      SteakNinja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton, Bedfordshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ditched SR102 - now using TP-Link VR900

      Ah ok, my test criteria does not require those stats, so i haven't collected them. Sorry i cant offer an opinion.

     

     
    Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION