Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 27

    Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All, Im prettty new to this forum and have trawling the web to try and find a clear defined ...

    1. #1
      newbie2015's Avatar
      newbie2015 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SKY HUB SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lightbulb Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      Hi All,

      Im prettty new to this forum and have trawling the web to try and find a clear defined answer to the question " What 3rd party routers with sky fibre". So i haven't yet been able to find a clear definition on what works without any hipcups.

      So i know that the TP-Link TD-W9880 works with a beta firmware supposedly that people have tried. But TP-link have no plans to carry on the support on this.

      What i am looking for as many people are is a modem & router built in. As i was one of the many people that have been sent sky's new SR102 which doesn't require an openreach modem. Having sky fibre pro and such a terrible device attached to the fibre network is awful...

      I would appreciate any feedback anyone can give me advising of make and model numbers and also any links to how they configured there new device on sky's fibre network.

      I also read a comment that if you are with Sky Fibre pro they would give you your username and password if you asked is this true?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      There's a whole pinned thread on what routers will work.

      As for an all in one solution - I know Billion routers work and ASUS have a range but the modem component isn't that strong. The Openreach modem is about the best solution and I'd hate having a single box because I tweak my network and reboot my router a lot. I'd suffer at the hands of DLM the way I work!

      However I appreciate I am a rare case - I'm a Network Engineer by trade so I'm always tinkering.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      I also read a comment that if you are with Sky Fibre pro they would give you your username and password if you asked is this true?
      I very much doubt if this is Sky's policy, for one thing Sky's T & Cs specifically forbid the use of 3rd party routers. You may find the odd agent who will give you the details, but it is certainly not a rule.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      See my header for a combined device that is working with stock firmware. Username password need to be extracted from your sky router. Info on doing this can be found by searching for exactly that in the forum search box or click on this link.

      How to get the Username and Password for the Sky Hub SR101
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #5
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      See my header for a combined device that is working with stock firmware. Username password need to be extracted from your sky router. Info on doing this can be found by searching for exactly that in the forum search box or click on this link.

      How to get the Username and Password for the Sky Hub SR101
      Didn't know the D7000 could connect directly to Sky servers, there must be a field to input the sky username and password that is missing from the firmware on the R7000 which is the D7000's cousin
      Last edited by andrewjr; 26-08-15 at 02:32 AM.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    7. #6
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      That would appear to be the case. Badger netgear and get them to sort it for the R7000. It would be very easy for them to do, and now they have done it on one router, there's no excuse for not doing it on the others. Is there any new firmware for the R7000 ?
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    8. #7
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      That would appear to be the case. Badger netgear and get them to sort it for the R7000. It would be very easy for them to do, and now they have done it on one router, there's no excuse for not doing it on the others. Is there any new firmware for the R7000 ?
      I will get onto Netgear but not holding out hope.

      I have the latest version as the router States their isn't a new one when I try to upgrade from the genie menu. I will have to hunt around and see if there is a newer version or perhaps a beta.

      After my previous posts I quickly Googled the instructions for the D7000 and see that on the internet setup page it has a box for the 'client dentifier string' (option 61). Which is presumably where you have the sky username and password details
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #8
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      That's the one. I thought there were some open source firmwares for the R7000, that would at least allow you to use the udhpc command.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    10. #9
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      Just had a look in the bin folder on my D7000, and there's udhcp. so it should be in the R7000.

      Usage: udhcpcd [OPTIONS]


      -c, --clientid=CLIENTID Client identifier
      -H, --hostname=HOSTNAME Client hostname
      -D, --domain=DOMAIN Domain name used to choose offer
      -f, --foreground Do not fork after getting lease
      -i, --interface=INTERFACE Interface to use (default: eth0)
      -n, --now Exit with failure if lease cannot be
      immediately negotiated.
      -p, --pidfile=file Store process ID of daemon in file
      -q, --quit Quit after obtaining lease
      -r, --request=IP IP address to request (default: none)
      -s, --script=file Run file at dhcp events (default:
      /usr/share/udhcpc/default.script)
      -v, --version Display version
      -w, --w w argument
      -o, --info info argument
      -g, --g RouteTable


      I'd be playing with that if it was my R7000.

      Problem would be if it did work, it would only hold until a reboot. However, they are very stable so it may be worth a try...
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    11. #10
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre & 3rd Party Routers that work with MER let clear this up please

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      That's the one. I thought there were some open source firmwares for the R7000, that would at least allow you to use the udhpc command.
      there is. i had dd-wrt on it. can't stand the interface though.

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Just had a look in the bin folder on my D7000, and there's udhcp. so it should be in the R7000.

      Usage: udhcpcd [OPTIONS]


      -c, --clientid=CLIENTID Client identifier
      -H, --hostname=HOSTNAME Client hostname
      -D, --domain=DOMAIN Domain name used to choose offer
      -f, --foreground Do not fork after getting lease
      -i, --interface=INTERFACE Interface to use (default: eth0)
      -n, --now Exit with failure if lease cannot be
      immediately negotiated.
      -p, --pidfile=file Store process ID of daemon in file
      -q, --quit Quit after obtaining lease
      -r, --request=IP IP address to request (default: none)
      -s, --script=file Run file at dhcp events (default:
      /usr/share/udhcpc/default.script)
      -v, --version Display version
      -w, --w w argument
      -o, --info info argument
      -g, --g RouteTable


      I'd be playing with that if it was my R7000.

      Problem would be if it did work, it would only hold until a reboot. However, they are very stable so it may be worth a try...
      bin folder? lost me now
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION