Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast
    Results 121 to 130 of 152
    Like Tree4Likes

    Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

    This is a discussion on Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; As you are on a Broadcom based cab you should find the HG612 behaves better than the ECI, although that ...

    1. #121
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      As you are on a Broadcom based cab you should find the HG612 behaves better than the ECI, although that is a bit anecdotal. I am running a 612 on a bcm based cab.

      If you want to take a look at what my stats are, apart from what you see at the bottom of the page, go take a look here: Remote Web Based Modem Statistics for ADSL/VDSL- MyDSLWebStats/DSLWebStats/LiveDSLStats/MDWS

      Username is the same.

      Just as an afterthought, it may be that the ECI modem you have does not have G.Inp enabled on it, that made a BIG difference to my stats when that was enabled on my line.
      Last edited by marjohn56; 06-01-16 at 12:57 PM.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------


    2. Advertisement
    3. #122
      raislander's Avatar
      raislander is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2016
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      Yes I think the G.Inp does makes a huge impact. In fact with the Sky router I was never able to achieve pings in my line below 10-12ms, while now it's half ot it.

      Thanks for the link to the MyDSLStats definitely worth it to see that. Can I ask how far from the Local Exchange are you? Because you have a similar attenuation on your line to mine around 13-14db, so I believe the router is messing up a lot on my case.

      I should be able to get easily up to 60-65M for some reason I have never been able in BT or Talk Talk, or Sky that speed before that's why I had to downsize to 40/10 because I wasn't getting more than 48M at the end.

      Thanks for the tips and the help. I think I'm going to try the Asus for a couple of days more and possibly will return it back on Saturday as it's giving me headaches already.

      I possibly will go with the Netgear D7000 or the RT-AC68U+HG612 option, as both are similar price.

    4. #123
      madhatter2426's Avatar
      madhatter2426 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      Go for the Asus. Had mine for months and never had to reboot once.

      Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

    5. #124
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      Im probably between 200m to 250m from the cabinet, bur the exchange is miles away.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #125
      raislander's Avatar
      raislander is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2016
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      So back to the issues again, getting tired of the Asus router and planning to return it tomorrow morning first thing.

      I had been reset the line this morning again by the DSLAM, actually since I plugged the router everyday the line has reset at 7.00AM. The issue now is that when I was getting G.INP before and latency was pretty good. All of a sudden again I get G.INP, download only, and ISP IP assignment fails. I disabled G.INP in the Asus and I get connection immediately, but I'm now Interleaved and the ping has gone to 30ms.

      Is this Sky??? Can it be possible that cards at the DSLAM has configurations with G.INP active and some that doesn't?? It's a bit too weird.

      Any help or insight here would be really appreciated.

    7. #126
      Bebbo's Avatar
      Bebbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      Not that it is much help to you but the Asus has an issue with Sky MER if you change any settings such as g.inp. It seems like it reverts to trying to do a WAN DHCP request using the normal user / password not option 61. If you check the logs after turning g.inp on you will see the router connects via DSL but then when doing the DHCP part to get an IP address it fails. I couldn't get past this issue with mine and Asus support didn't respond to my emails. The router has now been returned as without g.inp on the connection was interleaved and kept disconnecting...

    8. #127
      raislander's Avatar
      raislander is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2016
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      Thanks for the info. This is something that I imagined, but didn't take the time to put wireshark on and take the traces etc. But it's precisely what's happening. I think this is a firmware issue that has been addressed to Asus but there is no work around so far. Because of the authentication method from Sky, when switching G.Inp the router will synchronize with the DSLAM but will not get an IP and vice versa. Now the weird thing is that with G.Inp activated I've been able to get IP for a few days, but all of a sudden again it's failing, don't know if maybe because once the ISP lease an IP, if you clone the MAC of the Sky router, it will leave it assigned and then no matter if you reset the line it will assign the same IP, or what, but this is what I've been able to notice.

      Anyway I'm not losing anymore time with this router as it's becoming so annoying to try to configure it correctly. I have just purchased this morning the RT-AC68U the non DSL version, and now waiting for the HG612 to come, that way I imagine that I will get a stable connection with no DLM intervention, and I can touch parameters in the router as much as I need.

    9. #128
      madhatter2426's Avatar
      madhatter2426 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2014
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      Remember to put merlin firmware on the asus.

      Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

    10. #129
      raislander's Avatar
      raislander is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2016
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      Sure thing!! Thanks for reminding me anyway.

    11. #130
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre

      Small point, but it might be relevant...

      Whilst Sky's ADSL connections use MER, many are now back on PPPoA. Also Sky uses their own DLM software, that includes G.INP on the ADSL connections.

      Over on Fibre, SFU & SFUP both use BTO's DLM software which also uses G.INP. As for MER, that's just a red herring. Sky doesn't use MER on Fibre connections, even if the routers do report it.

      ...but G.INP is used now my many BTO Fibre connections, so it is best left enabled.

      Essentially G.INP is one of several technologies that improve the connection speed and reliability of a connection, hence why I'd recommend leaving it on.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 13 of 16 FirstFirst ... 31112131415 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION