Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By dandandand

    3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

    This is a discussion on 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem) within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I know there are several threads about this but my question is a bit more specific. I want to ...

    1. #1
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      Hello, I know there are several threads about this but my question is a bit more specific.

      I want to use an alternate 3rd Party Router on my Sky Fibre Pro (78Mbit/s) service instead of the awful SR101 (white). Mainly because my wireless devices never reach the maximum speed even though they are WiFi-n certified. Researching this, I found that multiple devices connected to SR101 is difficult for this low cost router. So I have been looking at TP-Link Archer C7, which I know is WiFi-ac, but im safeguarding for the future.

      Anyway, I want to do this without having to install any special firmware like DD-WRT or Open-WRT.

      I intend to connect the BTO moden to the WAN port of the new router. Extract the password from the SR101 and then use them to connect the router to the internet. Will it be as straightforward as that? Am I missing something from the special firmware that will prevent me from doing this?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      malcky's Avatar
      malcky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      You could do something similar to what I have recently done, have a look at the last couple of posts on the following thread for details:

      Can someone check my Time Capsule set is correct?

    4. #3
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      Connect your TP Link in this manner

      Using the DLink DIR613.

    5. #4
      KACE's Avatar
      KACE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      The thing is I want to eliminate the Sky HUB (white) from my setup all together. I have read that sky uses a special MER authentication method, which sends information about the router, MAC as well as the user+password??? Is there any other router that can be set to MER authentication and send the correct details?

      Thanks

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      The MER thing is a bit of a red herring. The router needs to be able to pass Option 60/61 through the modem. There are a few routers which can do this 'out of the box', the Billions spring to mind. I don't know if the Archer C7 is capable of this, you would need to get in touch with the manufacturer. This is how the Billion was enabled, ie, by users requesting it. Most are using routers with Open firmware of some flavour.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      387
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      The Billion 7800 series and the new 8800NL are by far the easiest to set up to work with Sky.

    8. #7
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      the apple airport extreme's and time capsule's are also quite easy. no firmware flashing is required.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #8
      dandandand's Avatar
      dandandand is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: HG612 + 2TB Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2014
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      the apple airport extreme's and time capsule's are also quite easy. no firmware flashing is required.
      I used your guides, it could not have been simpler! (Thank you )

      Unlocked HG612 + Apple Time Capsule, plug a play once you quickly edit one line in the configuration file. Given it's performance for general users I think the Apple routers are excellent.
      andrewjr likes this.

    10. #9
      Charlie_chester999's Avatar
      Charlie_chester999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      I'm trying to set up my Sky Fibre set up with a BT Openreach modem and Time Capsule but failing sadly.

      The BT modem was used with BT Infinity and I connected it to the time capsule via Ethernet. I have obtained my username and password via Wireshark software but it won't connect.

      I did have it working on the BT infinity setup but since changing to sky it won't work.

    11. #10
      Charlie_chester999's Avatar
      Charlie_chester999 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 3rd Party Router (+ BT Openreach Modem)

      Do you have to do anything to the Openreach modem? Like a hack of some description or an unlock?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION