Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By gabrio.linari

    New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary?

    This is a discussion on New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, I am having my new fibre optic installed this monday, been there before and as usual i had ...

    1. #1
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary?

      Hi guys,

      I am having my new fibre optic installed this monday, been there before and as usual i had the OR engineer coming at the flat and fitting in the vDSL faceplate and testing the connection, etc...

      I have phoned Sky 2 times and they confirmed that an OR engineer will come at the flat and will check my connection for this new installation (long time phone disconnected etc, then I have a weird switch board from a legacy installation), so this is NOT a self install and it's 3 weeks I am waiting. Fine.

      My question is... they sent me the black router (so with no OR modem necessary) and microfilters, so is it still best to ask to the OR engineer to fit the vDSL faceplate rather than using the filters right? Or there's some mega shiny new setup so that it doesn't make any difference anymore?

      I was planning to prepare tea and cookies for the OR engineer to ease his task ehhehe

      thanks
      Gabrio


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary?

      I would hope the engineer would fit a VDSL faceplate/socket and even better the mk2 as this has filters that help reduce interference and they are also more future proof when it comes to higher speeds.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    4. #3
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary?

      Quote Originally Posted by Hedgehog1979 View Post
      I would hope the engineer would fit a VDSL faceplate/socket and even better the mk2 as this has filters that help reduce interference and they are also more future proof when it comes to higher speeds.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
      yeah that's what I would like as well, so I will hide those microfilters

    5. #4
      RUNITDIRECT's Avatar
      RUNITDIRECT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Shropshire
      Posts
      1,254
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 81 Times in 77 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary?

      Quote Originally Posted by Hedgehog1979 View Post
      I would hope the engineer would fit a VDSL faceplate/socket and even better the mk2 as this has filters that help reduce interference and they are also more future proof when it comes to higher speeds.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
      Yes, you want the faceplate!!
      run-IT-direct, For all your networking, ADSL & telecom requirements.

    6. #5
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary?

      Quote Originally Posted by RUNITDIRECT View Post
      Yes, you want the faceplate!!
      I managed to get the engineer install the vDSL faceplate, although he was recommending to use the supplied microfilters... I think he didn't have a clue, thankfully he honoured my request.

      sad thing is that there's something wrong and I have no DSL signal coming through so today they need to send another OR engineer that will check again. I bet he didn't patch me in from the Fibre cabinet. New Phone number works though.
      Scubbie likes this.

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,074
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary?

      A good result with the faceplate.

      Sorry that you currently don't have an Internet connection but that should be coming soon. Do keep us updated about the visit later today.

      P.S. Could you update your profile as well please? It really does help us to know what you have when offering advice at a later date.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Fibre Install... Microfilters or vDSL faceplate necessary?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      A good result with the faceplate.

      Sorry that you currently don't have an Internet connection but that should be coming soon. Do keep us updated about the visit later today.

      P.S. Could you update your profile as well please? It really does help us to know what you have when offering advice at a later date.
      done. btw I put a new thread about this. we can close this one. tnx

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION