Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24
    Like Tree1Likes

    How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

    This is a discussion on How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; OK I have just created a single rule, using any port. I found his IP was another computer name this ...

    1. #11
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      OK I have just created a single rule, using any port.

      I found his IP was another computer name this morning, it surprised him that I could tell.
      he has lots of linux installations but only 1 mac address - seems his bravado has not been enough for him to spoof it yet.
      it will come though, and when it does I'll do a hardware change to put him on his own network.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Hmm, blocking him only blocked port 80?
      He was still able to chat to his mates.

      So have blocked outgoing as well as incoming with a service that includes all ports to see if that makes any difference.

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Can't you just take the laptop away after say 9pm?

      BTW: In playing with Ubuntu recently I came across the part to spoof the MAC Address. I am not familiar with Ubuntu and it was very easy to find.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #14
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Well, hopefully the desktop PC now cannot be used (after 11:30) and we take the laptop away.

      However he also has a phone with unlimited internet.

      Its a no win situation, especially as it was us that bought him his new phone

      But still, after many good nights he does have some colour in his cheeks, gets up on time and can be conversed with (sometimes) which is a whole lot better than before

      Kids eh. (by kids I mean 18 in a couple of days)

    6. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Unfortunately it does appear that the accepted culture by teenagers now is to stay at home and do nothing during the day. Of course this is not true of all of them, but a very vocal group does make is quite clear that they do prefer to be active into the early hours.

      Trying not to alienate him and at the same time getting him to find gainful (legal) employment or education isn't easy.

      At the same time, should he decide to leave, things are not so easy out there. He would be classed as making himself intentionally homeless and the council will just ignore him.

      Good luck!

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #16
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      The papers are saying that 25% of teenagers are staying at home - methinks I have 50% of those living with me lol....

      Er indoors tells me he's still chatting despite the router blocking his pc so I have some more investigating to do.

    8. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      The naughty side of me suspects that one of these might help, but I suspect their use might be illegal...

      Buy Cell Phone Jammer uk, Mobile Phone Jammer for sale

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #18
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      He is now telling me that it only blocks http, that he can still use audio services etc.


    10. #19
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      460
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      there are various tools that could remote control linux even some that work as an app from a smart phone , worked well with my kids although they were windows pc

    11. #20
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,490
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: How to setup MAC address filtering on SR101?

      Until he was 16, We used to require my step-son to keep his PC usage to finish by 1am.

      He isn't so geeky so he only used Windows so we kept the admin password secret and set his PC to go into Shutdown every 5 minutes from 1am until 7am to make sure he went to bed for at least these 6 hours per night

      Just an aside really but if he is underage you could just spout some **** (sorry :-)) like that he needs to use windows until he is old enough.
      Linux is supposed to be more secure than Windows so you could probably setup a similar rule as long as you had Admin access to the system.

      I'm a bit "soft" so I would disable it on weekends and school holidays but otherwise he'd have sat up all night, every night of the year.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION