Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24
    Like Tree3Likes

    Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

    This is a discussion on Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Close but it's actually Openreach!...

    1. #11
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,313
      Thanks
      358
      Thanked 156 Times in 150 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      Close but it's actually Openreach!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Close but it's actually Openreach!
      Does feel like you are dealing with oompa loompas sometimes though.

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      Update:

      After Speedyrite and myself questioned Sky over this, we have finally got an answer.

      Sky uses the defaut setting 'Stable' and you cannot request to have this changed.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      andrewjr (04-09-13),Angel_Rex (09-09-13),Brutos (09-10-13)

    6. #14
      Hoolay88's Avatar
      Hoolay88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2014
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      is that OR stable (BTW Super stable) or is that BTW Stable (OR standard)

    7. #15
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      It would be BTO's Stable setting since Sky's Fibre products are not BTW products.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #16
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      249
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      Sky use the Openreach "standard" DLM policy. There is the option of "speed" for fibre pro customers.

    9. #17
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,313
      Thanks
      358
      Thanked 156 Times in 150 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      Quote Originally Posted by buddbuttocks View Post
      <snip> There is the option of "speed" for fibre pro customers.
      Line profile customisation is "coming soon" for fibre pro customers - no timescale, no details of what the options will be nor how it will actually work (from a process point of view).
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #18
      cpettitt's Avatar
      cpettitt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet
      Router: TG589
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2014
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      BT Openreach do.

    11. #19
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      Quote Originally Posted by cpettitt View Post
      BT Openreach do.
      What ?


    12. #20
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,634
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Reminder about the reality of DLM on Openreach FTTC

      They just do!

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION