Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Port Forwarding SR101

    This is a discussion on Port Forwarding SR101 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, Ok first off I'm not stupid, thick or anyway none PC thicko but I cannot get ports to ...

    1. #1
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      656
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Post Port Forwarding SR101

      Hi Guys,

      Ok first off I'm not stupid, thick or anyway none PC thicko but I cannot get ports to open up on the SR101 router for love or money.

      What I need is for example:

      On my incoming IP address I need it associated to port 8000 and then it gets directed to my local IP address using port 7000.

      So

      Example: http:// 88.77.66.55:8000 when clicked goes to 192.168.0.50:7000.

      I can open ports on there own but I cannot direct incoming ports to internal ports.

      Any help on this or can I change the router and keep the modem?

      Thanks
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding SR101

      I took a look at the sr101 routers UI and put my old asus rt-16 back on.

    4. #3
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      656
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding SR101

      As in flashing the router?

      Or using another router?
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      22,293
      Thanks
      643
      Thanked 1,998 Times in 1,878 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding SR101

      Have you tried reading this guide: Port forwarding - Setting up Port forwarding (use existing & set up custom services)

      Also are you forwarding all the required ports?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      656
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding SR101

      Yes M8 forwarding all ports but the program Im using says for example as follows:

      Incoming IP to use port 123 and when that connects it gets transferred to internal port 456.

      So I need the router to connect to http://xx.xx.xx.xx:123 external and then via the router connect to 192.xxx.xxx.xxx:456 internally.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      22,293
      Thanks
      643
      Thanked 1,998 Times in 1,878 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding SR101

      None of the Sky routers will allow you to divert a port forwarding.

      This feature is something that you tend to find on business routers or some high-end domestic routers.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      198
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding SR101

      Quote Originally Posted by The Realist View Post
      As in flashing the router?
      The asus was already running tomato usb.

      Quote Originally Posted by The Realist View Post
      Or using another router?

      This was before a method of extracting the username/password from an sr101 had been discovered so I just tagged the asus to the skyhubs DMZ (as per a guide on this forum).

      This set-up has proved to work so flawlessly I have not bothered to change it, being a long time fan of the "if it ain't broke..." principal.

    9. #8
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: SkyHD/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      656
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding SR101

      Ahhhhh bugger.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      None of the Sky routers will allow you to divert a port forwarding.

      This feature is something that you tend to find on business routers or some high-end domestic routers.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO