Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

    This is a discussion on Port Forwarding on SR101 not working. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, Struggling with this one I have followed the Port Forwarding guidelines given HERE , but have found that ...

    1. #1
      SteakNinja's Avatar
      SteakNinja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton, Bedfordshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

      Hi all,

      Struggling with this one

      I have followed the Port Forwarding guidelines given HERE, but have found that only one of the ports i have attempted has actually opened.
      The successful port was for a TS3 server, and so far the unsuccessful ones have been for almost every game i have on steam.
      Currently the most pressing for me is Black Ops II, which i understand uses:
      • External port: 3074 Internal port: 3074 Protocol: TCP/UDP
      • 27000 - 27030 Protocol: UDP
      • 27014 - 27050 Protocol: TCP

      I have created all these as custom services, and added them to firewall rules supposedly to forward to my static internal IP...

      PFPortChecker is what i have used to confirm opening.

      Am i missing something??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

      You have an overlap 27014-27030 where you need both UDP & TCP. I do not know the limit with the Sky Hub, but some routers only allow either 20 or 30 rules. I would suggest using one rule to capture ports 2700-27050 for both UDP & TCP.

      Check too whether or not you have some 'passive' ports. I have found with my Netgear NAS that the default settings were wring and that I needed to limit them to around 50 or less ports.

      Ideally UPnP should work and you should not need to setup individual ports for forwarding with the SR101.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      SteakNinja (05-03-13)

    5. #3
      SteakNinja's Avatar
      SteakNinja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton, Bedfordshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I would suggest using one rule to capture ports 2700-27050 for both UDP & TCP.
      Thanks I will try that tomorrow and let you know

    6. #4
      SteakNinja's Avatar
      SteakNinja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton, Bedfordshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      I would suggest using one rule to capture ports 2700-27050 for both UDP & TCP.
      I may have discovered what it was...
      I think i had reused the same port numbers in a much earlier attempt at port forwarding for a different game, in which the incorrect IP was set.
      Possibly prevented the correctly forwarded service addition from functioning?
      Does the list order affect implementation order of the rules? - the wrong ones were first in the list.

      I did the shared TCP/UDP ports also (Much better idea, thanks).

      Thanks for your help

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

      Certainly there is a priority order of using the rules.

      If you have two devices using the same ports, see if you can change one of them.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

      You can move rules up and down the list, but it would probably be better if you start from scratch and reset the router to remove all your previous settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #7
      SteakNinja's Avatar
      SteakNinja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton, Bedfordshire
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

      Yeah i did just delete them all in the end and start again without duplicate services.
      Thanks for all the advice.

    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Port Forwarding on SR101 not working.

      No problem. Glad that it all works fine now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION