Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 34

    Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; We switched from BT Infinity 40mbps service to Sky Fibre Unlimited last Tuesday. Since then on a regular basis our ...

    1. #1
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      We switched from BT Infinity 40mbps service to Sky Fibre Unlimited last Tuesday.

      Since then on a regular basis our mixture of desktop PCs, laptops, and smartphones keep getting delivered to the Sky Router page at 192.168.0.1

      It might happen on my Galaxy Note, or on my desktop PC, or anyone else in my house. Quite regularly for example it will happen if trying to get to a google.com search result, whereas if i then visit google.co.uk and repeat the search it works ok.

      It happens on all kinds of access, but that's just one example i have particularly noticed.

      Have tried disconnecting everything, checking the way it's all wired up, swapping cables out, rebooting the router etc. but as of now it's still happening.

      Has anyone else experienced this? Any tips?

      Our BT connection was rock solid for over a year, fingers crossed Sky will sort itself out, but it's a PITA at the moment.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,074
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts
      The Sky Hub does this when it has lost it's connecting to the Internet.

      Can you determine if the issue is between the Sky Hub and the Modem or the Modem and Sky's servers?

      If the issue is between the Modem and Sky's then please fell free to check the connections in your home before calling Sky.

      Line faults can develop at any time. Just because you had a problem free connection with a previous ISP does not mean that it is Sky's fault. On our local news this week a couple in Dorset have been without broadband for months due to a host of reasons. BTO just can't fix it.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      This is the odd thing - other tabs will open fine, or other devices connected to the network.

      Its just some sites/pages when at the same time there are no connection problems on other devices or in the seconds immediately after.

      It doesn't appear to be a loss of connection on the line

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,074
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      If you have made any changes to the router's settings, could I ask you to use the Backup option and save them please? Also make a written note of them too.

      Once you have done that, can I ask you to press the 'Reset' button for around 10 seconds to wipe the memory.

      When the router has rebooted, log in and restore your settings.

      Can you let me know how you get on with this please and if this resolves the problem?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      Ill give that a try later tonight. Off the top of my head the only change is to the default router password (so I'm the only one who can make changes) and changing the SSID and wireless password to something easier to remember or tell visiting guests.

      Neither of those should affect wired desktop pcs. But fingers crossed

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,074
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      No problem.

      I am just wondering if the NVRAM has become corrupted and trying to ensure that this is not the case.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,462
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      The next time this happens open a command prompt and run:
      nslookup webaddress

      where webaddress is the URL without http:// that is being directed to your Sky hub eg. "www.google.co.uk"
      check the ip address of:

      a. the nameserver &
      b. the webaddress

      Are either or both the address of your Sky hub (usually 192.168.0.1 if you are still using default settings).

    9. #8
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      I'll bear both of those posts in mind and will try the suggestions later. My lazy sunday has turned out to be too busy!

    10. #9
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      I've now tried a full reset on the Sky router and then used the default SSID and password. Sadly things are the same - regularly diverted to the router ip or pages fail to load.

      Strange thing is that I could have a live uninterrupted skype video or voice chat or be typing a chat, whilst on the same or another machine get problems loading a webpage.

      Would appreciate more suggestions to resolve this. Thanks

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,074
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      Do you know someone nearby who also has Sky broadband?

      The Sky Hub could be used on their connection to see if it is a router issue. If they happen to have Fibre, you can check out their router on your connection too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION