Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 34

    Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Unfortunately not. The only people I know on a fibre product are with BT . Tomorrow i'll just have to ...

    1. #11
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      Unfortunately not. The only people I know on a fibre product are with BT. Tomorrow i'll just have to run the telephone technical support gauntlet!

      Luckily I often do this for other people as part of my job so am patient. Sods law i would have a problem


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts
      No problem. Just to clarify, the Sky Hub will work on both Sky ADSL & Fibre connections.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #13
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      If I rest my routr on an adsl connection ill not be comparing apples with apples though.

      First rule of troubleshooting - change one thing at a time and one thing only

    5. #14
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,487
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 386 Times in 376 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      Quote Originally Posted by essex_chris View Post
      First rule of troubleshooting - change one thing at a time and one thing only
      Unless you are using the half split method.

      What results did you get from nslookup?

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      I remember a couple of years ago something similar happened with the old Sagem. If I remember correctly it was traced to faulty power supply. As your router has a built in PSU it is unlikely to be the same, but it may help if you run your router through a surge protected socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      If the router is definitely faulty then there is a good chance that the problem will present itself on both Fibre and ADSL connections. Of course there is a chance that the fault will not present itself, but there is no harm in trying.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #17
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      Unfortunately here there are five people sharing, including our lodgers - removing the router for enough time to have the problem present itself would be difficult as i don't have anyone who has the new router that i know of to swap with, but also i would have to go through all the hassle of doing it anyway.

      The nslookup gives the following sorts of results;

      nslookup eBay - one of the UK's largest shopping destinations
      server: SkyRouter.Home
      Address:192.168.0.1

      Non-authoritative answer:
      Name: ebay.co.uk
      Addresses: 66.135.215.61
      66.135.200.23

      nslookup www.ebay.co.uk
      server: SkyRouter.Home
      Address:192.168.0.1

      Non-authoritative answer:
      Name: skyuser.co.uk
      Addresses: 77.24.11.51
      Aliases: Sky User

      nslookup Google
      server: SkyRouter.Home
      Address:192.168.0.1

      Non-authoritative answer:
      Name: Google
      Addresses: 2a00:1450:400c:c03::69
      173.194.66.99
      173.194.66.103
      etc

      It doesn't make any difference if i have just had a problem loading a page and then do an nslookup to if i do it when the page loads fine.

      It's simply that on a very regular basis a page won't load on android and ios devices, or on Windws7 and Windows XP laptops and desktops.

      Close the tab or browser, retry and it usually works.

      I had it happens several times whilst having a cuppa this morning, chatted to my housemate on a desktop machine downstairs with loads of apps and browsers open while he works from home, and he hadn't had it happen once. Whereas last night it was the reverse, fine for me, problems for him. Other times we both get it.

      Obviously with no other router available for me to swap and test - which presumably isn't something that Sky would suggest if i rang the technical support line - is there anything else i can try?

      Are Sky likely to simply ship out a new router if this one is questionable?

    9. #18
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,487
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 386 Times in 376 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      It may be worth trying a different Name Server than using your routers built in server. Not having an SR101 hub myself I am not entirely sure how to do this but I am sure there are others reading this forum who can help you. It may effect your ability to contact other devices on your local network by name but you will still be able to use IP addresses or NetBIOS names to contact them. If there are still any problems then you can put names to IP address mappings in your etc\hosts file which is usually located off of \windows\system32\drivers on a MS Windows PC.

    10. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      You don't actually say what error message you get when this happens. Could you take a screen dump and post it please?

      I appreciate that there are other people using the connection, but since Sky are refusing to deal with this and we are trying to find a cause, there is very little we can suggest.

      Another thing which may be of use is some kind of map showing what is connected and how it is connected. For example any HomePlugs (make & model), network switches and whether WiFi or Ethernet.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #20
      essex_chris's Avatar
      essex_chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD TB & M/R
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre SR101 - both wired & wireless keep sending me to router IP

      Just to clarify - Sky aren't refusing to deal with this at all. I rang a couple of times and got put in a queue and was too busy to wait, and the problem not significant enough to warrant calling back yet. I use forums for all kinds of things and hoped it might be a common problem somebody could say "Do X to fix it" and i'd have found a resolution.

      Right at this particular moment, i haven't had a page not load at all for about an hour. When i do i will get a screen grab. The page either don't load and i get a Chrome message IIRC, or i get routed to the 192.168.0.1 page and the login box pops up, with similar happening on mobiles devices like my Galaxy Note (have tried multiple browsers).

      Currently i have the following setup:

      Telephone/Broadband Socket
      | 3m rj11 cable
      White BT Fibre Modem
      | 2m ethernet cable
      Sky SR101 Wireless Router
      | 2m ethernet cable
      5 port 10/100mb switch
      | 10m ethernet cable
      5 port 10/100 switch

      Plus the usual use of a wireless connection. I have tried swapping cables, plugging desktop PCs straight into the SR101 with different cables, unplugging everything except the one PC connected straight to the router, hard reset of the router.

      All have made no difference. Everthing may be fine for the morning, but then get back later on and it's a frequent issue.

      Not the end of the world, just means trying to load pages again (though you have to know what page you were trying to load as you can't click back) but obviously it's something that i would want to get sorted.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION