Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    IMporting old config settings on Sagemcom 2504n router with differing firmware

    This is a discussion on IMporting old config settings on Sagemcom 2504n router with differing firmware within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have a new router from Sky as the old one was playing up. The old router firmware was 6.14.1a4N_UNI ...

    1. #1
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      IMporting old config settings on Sagemcom 2504n router with differing firmware

      I have a new router from Sky as the old one was playing up.

      The old router firmware was 6.14.1a4N_UNI and the new one has 5.27.1a4N.

      I have tried to import the old config file however it doesn't change anything.

      Tried Sky and they weren't much help.

      Does anyone have an idea of what I can do? Tried editing the xml without success.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: IMporting old config settings on Sagemcom 2504n router with differing firmware

      If you open the config file in Notepad you will see that it is stored in plain text.

      You should be able to work out most of the settings and put them back in. If necessary you should also be able to copy & paste things such as MAC addresses if required.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: IMporting old config settings on Sagemcom 2504n router with differing firmware

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      If you open the config file in Notepad you will see that it is stored in plain text.

      You should be able to work out most of the settings and put them back in. If necessary you should also be able to copy & paste things such as MAC addresses if required.
      Thanks, I have tried that first using notepad then using WInMerge. The only thing that works is DynDNS and Address reservation. MAC security and ports always fail.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: IMporting old config settings on Sagemcom 2504n router with differing firmware

      Sorry, I don't think that there is much else to suggest there. I wouldn't merge the files though, I would type in the details fresh into the router.

      When I was having fun with the DGND3700 I would have to make a copy of the settings as all too often I could not access the config file saved in the previous version. The config file for the DGND3700 is also encrypted, so I couldn't use Notepad to help.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: IMporting old config settings on Sagemcom 2504n router with differing firmware

      Does anyone have an idea of what I can do? Tried editing the xml without success.
      Is there any particular reason you can't simply enter the settings manually? Some have reported that the router must be connected to the internet for settings to 'take'. Could this be your problem.

      I have found that Programmers Notepad is far superior to the Windows Notepad. It is well worth using.-
      Programmer's Notepad

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION