Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 19 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 186
    Like Tree20Likes

    Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

    This is a discussion on Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This may be a dumb question, but will this work with other routers? I'm considering a TPLink router, but it ...

    1. #21
      sirjimbo's Avatar
      sirjimbo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2013
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      This may be a dumb question, but will this work with other routers? I'm considering a TPLink router, but it doesn't have a "DHCP Client ID" field. However, it has a "Host name" field. Is that the same thing?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      darsuke's Avatar
      darsuke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWACT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky TV
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Two questions:

      Will the latest Time Capsule work in the same way?
      Guide refers to OS Lion, we only have snow leopard, is that an issue?

      Thanks

    4. #23
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Quote Originally Posted by darsuke View Post
      Two questions:

      Will the latest Time Capsule work in the same way?
      Guide refers to OS Lion, we only have snow leopard, is that an issue?

      Thanks
      yes the TC is just a AEBS with a HDD built in.

      yes it will work with snow leopard, use AirPort Utility 5.6.1 for Leopard/Snow Leopard
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      darsuke (20-02-13)

    6. #24
      darsuke's Avatar
      darsuke is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWACT
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: No Sky TV
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Excellent news!

      Am shopping on Amazon as we speak

    7. #25
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Hi Andrew
      May I ask you an unfair question, which I readily admit!
      We are heavy Apple users here with 4 x iPhones and 1 iPad. I am therefore considering buying an AEBS, for better wireless connection. Question is, is there due a new AE.
      I would hate to buy one next week, and an updated model comes out a week later, which is so Apple. Having been converted to Apple products, this seems the obvious router, and would hopefully be a high end product, rather than Drayteks or Netgears, but each of us have our own favourites I fully understand.
      John

    8. #26
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Quote Originally Posted by Johnelf View Post
      Hi Andrew
      May I ask you an unfair question, which I readily admit!
      We are heavy Apple users here with 4 x iPhones and 1 iPad. I am therefore considering buying an AEBS, for better wireless connection. Question is, is there due a new AE.
      I would hate to buy one next week, and an updated model comes out a week later, which is so Apple. Having been converted to Apple products, this seems the obvious router, and would hopefully be a high end product, rather than Drayteks or Netgears, but each of us have our own favourites I fully understand.
      John
      Sorry for the late reply.

      i'm not sure. had a quick google search and the general opinion is that 6th gen AEBS are unlikely to be release until 802.11ac is readily available but you would then need to upgrade any wifi adapters to make use of it.

      6th Generation Airport Extreme? - MacRumors Forums

      so its a personal choice down you you. I haven't used a draytek or the later netgear models so i cant comment on them. but for me the AEBS has been flawless and was an easy setup.

      setting it up does require AirPort Utility and there are a few different versions for each OS whether is OSX or Windows. Which OS do you use?
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #27
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Added a link for AirPort Utility 5.4.2 for Windows XP SP2+ & Vista in the main post.

      Please note that I am unable to check that this version of APU has the same options as 5.6 so it may not work. I will update if someone is able to check this out.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #28
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Apple only seem to update their Airport Extreme's and Time Capsule's every couple of years or so. They do release firmware updates a couple of times a year though, the latest firmware version been just a few weeks ago.

      It's by far the best option if you use other Apple devices as you will get the full WiFi connection speeds with all the devices. The newest iMacs will connect at the full 450mbps now to a AE or TC. The newest MacBooks connect at 300mbps.

      My TC is a 3rd gen 1TB model, which is 1 generation behind the latest version. Other than having a bigger HDD in the latest version, I believe there's very little difference.

    11. #29
      Johnelf's Avatar
      Johnelf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: BT Home Hub 4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Epsom
      Posts
      108
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Thanks for the response both!
      i guess my options are to wait and see, buy AE now or one of the other recommended routers. I have read there is a thought the new macs may support AC, so it would follow new AE to support this mode.

    12. #30
      AndrewJB's Avatar
      AndrewJB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple Airport Extreme
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Airport Extreme Base Station + Sky Fibre Guide

      Hi Guys,

      Got a 3rd generation Airport Extreme the other day quite cheap.. finally got it set up tonight with a few battles

      Laptop,Phone etc are connecting nicely (All Linux and Android devices)

      Quick question how do i know if the devices are connected using 2.4ghz or 5ghz? ive had really bad inteferance on 2.4ghz hence why ive got rid of the sky router so tbh id rather do away with 2.4ghz all together if i could

     

     
    Page 3 of 19 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION