Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23
    Like Tree5Likes

    Still waiting for router?

    This is a discussion on Still waiting for router? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by NewsreadeR @rederick - You may get the new router @iZucchini - obviously you are getting the old ...

    1. #11
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      @rederick - You may get the new router

      @iZucchini - obviously you are getting the old one.
      Why do you say that rederick may get the new router?



      dog-man


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by iZucchini View Post
      My fibre installation is 11/9/12. Earlier this evening (10pm) I received an email saying my router had been dispatched to ParcelForce. I haven't received a pack or anything yet though. Clearly is a case of pot luck here
      That's about the right time frame for your router to arrive.
      I had my dispatched email about 10 days before my install and it was delivered 5 days before.

      Sent from my ST18i
      Last edited by Fryingpan77; 30-08-12 at 08:39 AM.
      With sky since 1997.

    4. #13
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Am I correct in thinking that on the day of install, the BT engineer installs the modem but doesn't setup the router?
      Assuming it has arrived.

      I assume the router is self install?


      dog-man
      That's correct. The BTO engineer will install your new master socket and modem, then it's down to you to setup your router.
      Make sure you set it up while he's still there because quite a few BTO guys want to get off sharpish, and if you have a problem, it would be another waiting game to get it resolved.
      Most wait until you do a quick speed test before leaving.

      Sent from my ST18i
      Last edited by Fryingpan77; 30-08-12 at 08:34 AM.
      With sky since 1997.

    5. #14
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      Why do you say that rederick may get the new router?



      dog-man
      I think it because he's a new sky customer and not upgrading his broadband package.

      Sent from my ST18i
      Last edited by Fryingpan77; 30-08-12 at 08:43 AM.
      With sky since 1997.

    6. #15
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      @rederick - You may get the new router

      @iZucchini - obviously you are getting the old one.
      D'Oh! Hoping for the old one as I can see nobody's cracked the username/password on the new one. Would be just my luck ;-)
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

    7. #16
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by rederick View Post
      D'Oh! Hoping for the old one as I can see nobody's cracked the username/password on the new one. Would be just my luck ;-)
      If you have a managed/semi-managed switch that can do port mirroring or an old hub it's easy to sit between the Sky router and the FTTC Modem and Sniff the DHCP packet

    8. #17
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      If you have a managed/semi-managed switch that can do port mirroring or an old hub it's easy to sit between the Sky router and the FTTC Modem and Sniff the DHCP packet
      By that do you mean that you could get the information from the SR101?

      If so then a guided document would be handy, as people do have them thta frequent on here. We did start to look at it here.

      Sky Hub S101 Username And Password Attempt




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #18
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by rederick View Post
      D'Oh! Hoping for the old one as I can see nobody's cracked the username/password on the new one. Would be just my luck ;-)
      LOL I was being silly with my replies.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #19
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Not sure if a guided document would help unless people happen to have either a very old ethernet Hub or a switch which is at least semi-managed and can do Port mirroring.

      There are ways to get an unmanaged switch to act a bit like a hub but it basically involves an ARP Poisoning attack which I'd be hesitant to try on a switch that is uplinked to my providers network.
      NewsreadeR and stereohaven like this.

    11. #20
      stereohaven's Avatar
      stereohaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Asus RT-AC56U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 2TB Box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      495
      Thanks
      33
      Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Still waiting for router?

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Not sure if a guided document would help unless people happen to have either a very old ethernet Hub or a switch which is at least semi-managed and can do Port mirroring.

      There are ways to get an unmanaged switch to act a bit like a hub but it basically involves an ARP Poisoning attack which I'd be hesitant to try on a switch that is uplinked to my providers network.
      This post is complete gibberish to me and proves that while my family think I am quite techy and geeky I clearly know nothing really!
      Cookie and dragon2611 like this.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION