Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 123
    Like Tree6Likes

    HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

    This is a discussion on HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by zerokoolin sorry I meant that my homeplugs were losing a lot of speed not my vdsl i ...

    1. #11
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by zerokoolin View Post
      sorry I meant that my homeplugs were losing a lot of speed not my vdsl i am happy with 37Mbps but sad homeplug fails
      Oh right sorry need to pay more attention,

      Only thing I can suggest is make sure they're directly into the wall socket if you haven't already Putting them on extensions can make a huge difference.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      zerokoolin's Avatar
      zerokoolin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ipsley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Oh right sorry need to pay more attention,

      Only thing I can suggest is make sure they're directly into the wall socket if you haven't already Putting them on extensions can make a huge difference.
      Yeah they are plugged into the walls and according to the utility tool my computer plug is sync to my router plug at DL:468Mbps UL:484Mbps.

      I think I may purchase a router to replace the current router sky has supplied as I am getting a lot of trouble with it and hoping that it may speed up the connection (will post an update once I get it).

    4. #13
      Snak3zZ's Avatar
      Snak3zZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDCAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by zerokoolin View Post
      Yeah they are plugged into the walls and according to the utility tool my computer plug is sync to my router plug at DL:468Mbps UL:484Mbps.

      I think I may purchase a router to replace the current router sky has supplied as I am getting a lot of trouble with it and hoping that it may speed up the connection (will post an update once I get it).
      Look forward to hearing on this, I am currently running the Sky Sagem 2504N with a Netgear XAV1004 4 port Powerline Adapter, which was very expensive and purchased some time ago. Due to my speed halfing over the Powerline adapter I have decided to purchase the TP Link TL-WR1043ND that everyone is talking about and a Netgear
      XAVB5004 4 port. I will report back with my findings when they arrive at the end of the week. If they don't work any better I will just return them to Amazon.

      This is my current speed through the powerline:



      Speed via LAN connection to the router is 69.6MBps Down and 15.4MBps Up.

    5. #14
      leeper1974's Avatar
      leeper1974 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      I bought the Hercules pass through homeplugs for 30 from Play. I was losing a lot of signal over wifi - now it's solved..I guess. Streams well to sky anytime + too.

    6. #15
      Snak3zZ's Avatar
      Snak3zZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDCAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Sep 2012
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      1. Router being used to run LAN (if not Sky's please mention LAN speed) - TP-Link TL-WR1043ND
      2. Make & Model of HomePlugs & current price range - Netgear XAVB5004 4 Port PowerPlug
      3. Advertised connection speed - AV500
      4. LAN to LAN performance speed between the two HomePlugs - 500mbps
      5. LAN to LAN performance speed between the two HomePlugs (in Safe mode/without AV & firewall software) - 500mbps
      6. Internet download speed with HomePlugs connected (taken from router) - 52000/15000
      7. Internet download speed with HomePlugs connected (taken from 2nd HomePlug) - 52000/15000
      8. Internet download speed without HomePlugs connected (taken from router) - 70000/15000
      9. Personal comments/ratings - Great considering this is running down from two floors. Best I could have hoped for.


    7. #16
      zerokoolin's Avatar
      zerokoolin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ipsley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      I have purchased a Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router with dd-wrt firmware pre-installed to replace my sky router and happy with the new router giving me better wifi over the previous but the homeplugs only speed up by 1Mbps I am starting to think the netgear ones are not really that good. I may purchase a TP-Link Homeplug AV2 later to test later to see if I get a speed boost.

    8. #17
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      601
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      Ive just purchased some 500mbps zuxel plugs. Problem is I really need to run them through a surge protected 4 bar...... i see conflicting info though if a home plug can be used on a surge protected bar or not or if it can be used its just lower throughput.

      TBH its only for anytime, as long as i get 20mbps out of 500mbps home plugs ill be happy

      They should be delivered tomorrow so will see then.

    9. #18
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      601
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      Update:

      Home plugs installed (500mbps version) through two surge protected bars and off the wifi I get 20mbps. Its only for ondemand/anytime+ so im happy

    10. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,070
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      Just for reference Angel_Rex, could you do a speed test without the Surge Protected extension from the same socket that it is using?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #20
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      601
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: HomePlug and PowerLine Adaptors on Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Just for reference Angel_Rex, could you do a speed test without the Surge Protected extension from the same socket that it is using?
      I really need more sockets in my house:

      --------------------------------
      Notes in play:
      main pc
      sky router
      DG934gt router
      dg834gt router
      sky anytime+ wireless connector
      htpc
      wireless laptop
      titan android tablet
      2x new sky hd+ boxes

      --------------------------------

      Setup:

      BT fibre modem
      Sky router
      40/10 fibre - sync 38799/7125

      main pc wired to sky router

      sky anytime+ wireless extender plugged into my old netgear dg934gt to extend lan; this has:
      -HTPC plugged into it
      -xbox360 plugged into it
      -sky hd+ box plugged into it


      Home plug plugged into 4 bar surge protected extension socket in my cupboard which is extended by another 4 bar extension socket (LOL right? 2x surge protected sockets daisy chained)

      home plug plugged direct into sky fibre router

      home plug plugged into bedroom 4 bar extension socket (sure its surged too)
      home plug then plugs into a netgear dg834gt
      sky hd+ box plugged into the netgear dg834gt

      laptops, iphone4s & hts desire s all run from wifi

      wifi in the house all set to rex, rex1, rex2.

      rex = sky fibre router

      rex1 & rex2 are dhcp diabled and are fed by rex lan (one home plug fed and one sky extender fed)



      The speed test of 20mbps was speedtest.net via the wifi off the router in the bedroom, the speed test was carried out downstairs.

      obviously everything is fed via the 10/100 sky fibre router

      ------------------------------------------------------------------
      So to answer your question Sub, I would have to use a different socket in the house and use a longer rj45 cable to connect to give an accurate figure, i will also try the SKY user speed tester to test:

      wifi off dg834gt via home plug
      wired direct off dg834gt
      wired direct off home plug

      All of the above through surge protected

      I will then also try all of the above not on surge protection plugged direct into the wall


      I will also transfer a file and check the average speed, can you suggest a good tool to track speed across lan?

      Any other questions?

     

     
    Page 2 of 13 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION