Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 126
    Like Tree5Likes

    Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

    This is a discussion on Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND) within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Spiffing guide - got my router working...

    1. #21
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,135
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Spiffing guide - got my router working


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,135
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Followed all these instructions, though it seems to be dropping every 10-20 minutes or so...

    4. #23
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      It shouldn't do, have you checked the command line code to make sure it is correct
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. #24
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,135
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Yes, it now matches what you put with regard to firmware.

      Think it's ok now though

    6. #25
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,135
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Think it might be - if you click apply in one of the admin menus it just drops.

      I need to leave it alone for a bit now to check stability. All good so far though

    7. #26
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,135
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Have 2 hours 16 minutes of uptime now - so yes it was me fiddling with it earlier.

      I've already added a static route through to another virtual network and the badger works for all internal machines.

      Very pleased indeed.

    8. #27
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      yeah, if you mess with some settings it does drop the connection. if it does this i just telnet in and run the 2 commands and it picks up the internet immediately
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #28
      mailliw's Avatar
      mailliw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WRPGRN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT-N66U w/Tomato 1.28
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Thanks for the comprehensive guide. One of the main reasons I'd like to do this is increase my wireless range. It's difficult to move my router more than a metre for various issues, so I'd quite like to boost it. My question is: how effective is the boosting of db on dd-wrt?

      Have people noticed range and speed is noticeably better?

      Also, has anyone performed this hack on one of Sky's own routers? Since upgrading to Fibre, I now have the old Sky router (which wasn't bad at all. It had Wireless N, which the Fibre one doesn't!) - would it work, or is it like dressing mutton up as lamb (legal quandaries not withstanding of course!)

      Thanks

      Will

    10. #29
      tomthered's Avatar
      tomthered is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irlam
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      132
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      I thought this fibre router had wireless N but the lite version?

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      I now have the old Sky router (which wasn't bad at all. It had Wireless N, which the Fibre one doesn't!)
      The fibre router is identical to the ADSL one, only the firmware is different.

      If you feel the old one was better, first check the wireless settings, make sure they are the same. If they are try piggy backing the old one on to the new using these instructions.-
      How to connect two Routers together

      DD-WRT firmware cannot be used on the Sky routers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      mailliw (07-08-12)

     

     
    Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION