Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 3111213
    Results 121 to 125 of 125
    Like Tree5Likes

    Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

    This is a discussion on Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND) within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but this appears to be possibly what i need. Could it be adapted for ...

    1. #121
      pavilion's Avatar
      pavilion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDFOL
      Broadband ISP: TalkTalk Faster Fibre
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk AC1750
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      South Coast
      Posts
      104
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but this appears to be possibly what i need. Could it be adapted for 2017 and the Sky Q Hub for my Netgear R6400?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #122
      Mr stu magoo123's Avatar
      Mr stu magoo123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2018
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Quote Originally Posted by pavilion View Post
      Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but this appears to be possibly what i need. Could it be adapted for 2017 and the Sky Q Hub for my Netgear R6400?

      I know this is an old thread, but having successfully managed to get this setup working I thought I'll post how I did it.
      I have a ****ty sky q hub which I wanted to change with an tp link n750. I also had the BT openreach modem.

      The problem was getting the command line correct. You need to convert your sky username and password into HEX.

      This is the command line I used change the xxxxxx to your hex code. Should be a long line of numbers. Please note the second line is one long line.


      Killall udhcpc
      udhcpc -i vlan2 -x 0x3d: xxxxxxxxxx -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc &

      Once done you still need to MAC spoof to your original sky q hub.

      I used this to convert my sky username and password into HEX. Remember it has to xxxxxxx@skydsl|xxxxxxxxxx
      http://www.swingnote.com/tools/texttohex.php
      Last edited by Mr stu magoo123; 16-10-18 at 12:05 PM.

    4. #123
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,372
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 368 Times in 359 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Mr Stu Magoo 123. As you are a new member your first few posts will require moderator approval if they contain any links or attachments. A simple (plain text) post will be viewable by everyone.

    5. #124
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,130
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      Do we really have to still clone MAC addresses from the old boxes now? I believe I still have the MAC from my original SagemCom Fibre router from back in the day!

    6. #125
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.1.alpha
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,782
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 138 Times in 130 Posts

      Re: Step By Step Sky Fibre Working With DD-WRT (TP-Link TL-WR1043ND)

      No, and you don't need to extract the password either. However, if you switch routers and don't clone the MAC address then you should leave the modem disconnected for thirty minutes or so. That allows the BNG lease to expire and when you connect with your new router all should be O.K.

      As for the password, there's been no need to extract that for the best part of two years, as it says in the first message on the linked thread.

      Simple tool for extracting the username and password from YOUR router.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     
    Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 3111213

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION