Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Sky don't want to give me SBUF

    This is a discussion on Sky don't want to give me SBUF within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just come off the phone from Sky after trying to place an order with them to upgrade my ...

    1. #1
      chintz's Avatar
      chintz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Birmingham, UK
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      I have just come off the phone from Sky after trying to place an order with them to upgrade my Sky Unlimited Broadband to SBUF since Sunday, but they kept getting an error. My number used to be a Telewest (now Virgin Media) number almost 10 years ago, since then it's been transferred to BT and I've had Sky Line Rental for a few years. Their system throws up an error saying it can't use an ex-cable number for SBUF.

      Finally got through to the Fibre team and they tried to place my order again and I was told that as the service is so new they will not be able to use ex-cable numbers till about July!

      So they have advised me to try and place the order online nearer to July when their new fibre ordering systems launches tomorrow through My Sky instead of having to phone them to find out.

      So disappointed! :-(

      Has anyone else come across this problem?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      hmmmm...thats what you get for jumping from different companies?? maybe? sorry...

    4. #3
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      Quote Originally Posted by chintz View Post
      I have just come off the phone from Sky after trying to place an order with them to upgrade my Sky Unlimited Broadband to SBUF since Sunday, but they kept getting an error. My number used to be a Telewest (now Virgin Media) number almost 10 years ago, since then it's been transferred to BT and I've had Sky Line Rental for a few years. Their system throws up an error saying it can't use an ex-cable number for SBUF.

      Finally got through to the Fibre team and they tried to place my order again and I was told that as the service is so new they will not be able to use ex-cable numbers till about July!

      So they have advised me to try and place the order online nearer to July when their new fibre ordering systems launches tomorrow through My Sky instead of having to phone them to find out.

      So disappointed! :-(

      Has anyone else come across this problem?
      not as far as i know. some more info though if you have it.

      when you had your phone with telewest (virgin) did you have their cable broadband as well?
      when you moved your line rental to BT did they install a new phone line? the reason i ask is VM have their own telephony network and install their own master socket in your house

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      hmmmm...thats what you get for jumping from different companies?? maybe? sorry...
      not a helpful comment, people have the right to move companies if they wish
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. #4
      chintz's Avatar
      chintz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Birmingham, UK
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      Yes I had telewest/blueyonder Broadband as well, I forgot to mention I had Tiscali Broadband between Virgin and BT.

      They did install a new phone line, the old Virgin one is disconnected and not in use. We had a BT master socket put in and now we pay Sky for our line rental.

      The adviser said that as my telephone number used to be a cable number and that they own the number that's why the system does not like it. I asked why they didn't have problems when I changed to ADSL and between ADSL providers. They said that it doesn't affect ADSL connections, just their new SBUF service.

      I don't think this is a reasonable explanation as when I check my speed on samknows.com or on BT wholsale's site or BT infinity's site, it recognises it as a BT number and gives me my speed estimates.

    6. #5
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      Quote Originally Posted by chintz View Post
      Yes I had telewest/blueyonder Broadband as well, I forgot to mention I had Tiscali Broadband between Virgin and BT.

      They did install a new phone line, the old Virgin one is disconnected and not in use. We had a BT master socket put in and now we pay Sky for our line rental.

      The adviser said that as my telephone number used to be a cable number and that they own the number that's why the system does not like it. I asked why they didn't have problems when I changed to ADSL and between ADSL providers. They said that it doesn't affect ADSL connections, just their new SBUF service.

      I don't think this is a reasonable explanation as when I check my speed on samknows.com or on BT wholsale's site or BT infinity's site, it recognises it as a BT number and gives me my speed estimates.
      ok, if the checker recognises your number as a BT number then maybe you are not on SVBN (Sky Voice and Broadband Network), I'm not 100% sure though, I'm sure someone else could confirm. SVBN is a requirement for SBUF.

      could you do a tracert to bbc.co.uk and post the results, remove the first 2 ip addresses though
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    7. #6
      chintz's Avatar
      chintz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Birmingham, UK
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      I'll get back to you on the tracert, I'm working in London and won't be able to access my home network until Saturday!

    8. #7
      chintz's Avatar
      chintz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Birmingham, UK
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      I just pinged my home IP address and it gave me the following:

      7 be2.er11.thlon.ov.easynet.net (195.66.224.43) 31.826 ms 31.476 ms 31.389 ms
      8 ip-84-38-37-23.easynet.co.uk (84.38.37.23) 33.578 ms 33.863 ms 32.947 ms
      9 cr0.cmgreb.uk.easynet.net (87.87.249.203) 33.970 ms 35.231 ms 36.069 ms


      Does easynet show that I'm not on SVBN
      Last edited by chintz; 12-04-12 at 04:38 PM. Reason: Removed my works IP

    9. #8
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      Quote Originally Posted by chintz View Post
      I just pinged my home IP address and it gave me the following:

      7 be2.er11.thlon.ov.easynet.net (195.66.224.43) 31.826 ms 31.476 ms 31.389 ms
      8 ip-84-38-37-23.easynet.co.uk (84.38.37.23) 33.578 ms 33.863 ms 32.947 ms
      9 cr0.cmgreb.uk.easynet.net (87.87.249.203) 33.970 ms 35.231 ms 36.069 ms

      Does easynet show that I'm not on SVBN
      its possible yes, hope someone else can clarify
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #9
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky don't want to give me SBUF

      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION