Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26
    Like Tree6Likes

    How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

    This is a discussion on How to get round Sky MER and use your own router. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky has started authenticating by MER or using your routers MAC address to authenticate. This means to use your own ...

    1. #1
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      Sky has started authenticating by MER or using your routers MAC address to authenticate. This means to use your own router, whether an ADSL or Cable style you will need to get the Sky Routers WAN mac address and 'spoof' it on your own router.

      First download Wireshark from here www.wireshark.org and install it on the pc you will use shortly.

      Then go to your router's start page and obtain the following information:

      How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.-sky-router.jpg

      Then connect your pc DIRECTLY to the WAN connection on your sky router, ie. the connection that goes to your fibre modem. On my router this was marked yellow. You may need to apply a fixed IP address to your PC network connection.

      Run Wireshark and find your network connection

      How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.-ws1.jpg

      Click your network connection and wait for a black line to appear:

      How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.-ws2.jpg

      Clck on the black line and you will get detailed information on your network connection, including the WAN mac address at the other end

      How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.-ws3.jpg

      Then put the IP address information in your router, you may need to specify it is a static IP address, and also add the WAN mac address. My address was only one digit out from the LAN side mac address so this may be something that will help you find the WAN mac address in the above steps.

      How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.-netgear.jpg

      Reboot your router and you should be done!
      Last edited by joew; 30-03-12 at 01:36 PM.
      gorebrush and Mattyjkuk like this.

    2. The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to joew For This Useful Post:

      andrewjr (30-03-12),gorebrush (31-03-12),Mattyjkuk (30-03-12),Mr Mot (30-03-12),Scubbie (30-03-12),WheelNutWalter (30-03-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      you sir are going to make alot of people happy
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. #3
      Mattyjkuk's Avatar
      Mattyjkuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willaston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      Good work my friend!!! All I need now is a cable router.

      Is the connection working perfectly with no slow down?

    6. #4
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      Quote Originally Posted by Mattyjkuk View Post
      Is the connection working perfectly with no slow down?
      Actually an improvement. Mine has risen from 37Mbps to 39. Upload remains the same.

      Please 'thank' me if this helps you, this has got to be worth it!
      Mattyjkuk likes this.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to joew For This Useful Post:

      Mattyjkuk (30-03-12)

    8. #5
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      now....if only my airport extreme could spoof mac addresses
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. #6
      Duffman's Avatar
      Duffman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bagshot
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      Just had my Fibre installed today - tried the work around above on my Billion 7800N - it all seem to work from the router side of things, makes a connection and has the status as "UP" and the internet indication light on the front of the router is lit.

      Still can't access the internet though and can't ping the default gateway I have just entered

      Any ideas? I currently have connected the 7800N with no DHCP so I can at least use the faster / more powerful wireless with the Sky router doing the cable bit

      Cheers

    10. #7
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,249
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      Quote Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
      Just had my Fibre installed today - tried the work around above on my Billion 7800N - it all seem to work from the router side of things, makes a connection and has the status as "UP" and the internet indication light on the front of the router is lit.

      Still can't access the internet though and can't ping the default gateway I have just entered

      Any ideas? I currently have connected the 7800N with no DHCP so I can at least use the faster / more powerful wireless with the Sky router doing the cable bit

      Cheers
      the workaround is still not 100%, as Joew ip address had changed. see here WNDR4500 and Openreach modem
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    11. #8
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      Still need to work out a way of getting the router to pick up a dynamic IP address. If anyone has any suggestions please say!
      Last edited by joew; 30-03-12 at 07:31 PM.

    12. #9
      Mattyjkuk's Avatar
      Mattyjkuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willaston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      Quote Originally Posted by joew View Post
      Still need to work out a way of getting the router to pick up a dynamic IP addresses. If anyone has any suggestions please say!
      Might be an idea to give Netgear a call to see if they have any clue on how to get around this, now you have made the actual connection they may just have a fix.

    13. #10
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: How to get round Sky MER and use your own router.

      Tried mine but no throughput, think it's due to me taking my time and my "sticky' IP changing..

      I'll give it another bash later. Thanks

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 15-11-13, 03:59 PM
    2. 31-10-13, 11:07 AM
    3. 29-10-13, 01:55 PM
    4. 27-10-13, 06:11 AM
    5. 18-10-13, 11:01 PM
    6. 10-10-13, 12:16 PM
    7. 12-08-13, 04:45 PM
    8. 03-08-13, 06:43 PM
    9. 15-05-13, 09:44 PM
    10. 07-05-13, 05:47 PM
    11. 07-05-13, 04:57 PM
    12. 31-01-13, 09:35 PM
    13. 12-06-12, 01:02 AM
    14. 09-06-12, 02:20 PM
    15. 30-05-12, 04:05 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION