Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 54
    Like Tree3Likes

    How to get it

    This is a discussion on How to get it within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; if the 2504n is the only router capable of fttc sort a speak then i guess it will be .0.1...

    1. #31
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      if the 2504n is the only router capable of fttc sort a speak then i guess it will be .0.1


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      if the 2504n is the only router capable of fttc sort a speak then i guess it will be .0.1
      Very likely, but it is a new firmware on the one that andrewjr has received.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #33
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      so its newer than mine I dunno what firmware I am running actually it says version 5.23.1a4N

    5. #34
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      so its newer than mine I dunno what firmware I am running actually it says version 5.23.1a4N
      Yes that is different to what andrewjr has described on the router he has received. His shows 5.27.1a4N.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #35
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      hum yea that is newer blimey well I guess we will have to wait and see or we could wait for people to post on here of there experience with sky's fttc on how its connected up and weather the router looks different in terms of settings with the newer firmware.

    7. #36
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      Its good to see and hear more people being asked to join the sky fibre trial, and it will be intersting to get andrewjr's feed back on the 17th.

      Now we have to find someone to try and extract their username and password and see if they can use an alternative router... ideally I would like to use my airport extreme its dual band and has gig ports....

    8. #37
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      Quote Originally Posted by deadman1984 View Post
      hum yea that is newer blimey well I guess we will have to wait and see or we could wait for people to post on here of there experience with sky's fttc on how its connected up and weather the router looks different in terms of settings with the newer firmware.
      Look at this post deadman: Sky Fibre connection

      Also take a look at the FAQ for the Fibre. Sky Fibre Broadband - FAQ

      The information in the FAQ is a summary of much that has been posted and collected on the subject. I hope it has been useful to various members. I have had some feedback on some errors and I have also some more changes to post in due course, but I have been busy today.

      There are also some changes to be confirmed by those involved in putting it together.

      Quote Originally Posted by Ipster View Post
      Its good to see and hear more people being asked to join the sky fibre trial, and it will be intersting to get andrewjr's feed back on the 17th.
      It is good to finally hear that various members are getting something. It may be that the speed he gets will be different to others once the product is launched (seeing the copy of the email that he received), but there are many other positives coming from this.

      Quote Originally Posted by Ipster View Post
      Now we have to find someone to try and extract their username and password and see if they can use an alternative router... ideally I would like to use my airport extreme its dual band and has gig ports....
      Normally I would be jealous, but I too am hoping that the positive experience that some people have already had with the Netgear DGND3700 on BT Infinity will be copied across to SBUF as it too is dual band and supports a 1Gbit LAN.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #38
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: VMG1312-B10A & Asus RT-86U with Merlin FW
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts
      I've had netgear routers for most of the ISPs I've been with. Virgin adsl that I have now issued the DG834GT and it has been flawless
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #39
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      I bet everyone would love 1gb fibre hehe that would be awesome but could be a few years off though due to cost. anyway if it turns out that the bt modem just connects to the sky router as if the sky router didn't have a modem then I suppose it would be .0.1 hope I have a spare Ethernet on my router lol.

    11. #40
      jamilayz's Avatar
      jamilayz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Station
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to get it

      Hi! I am currenly a Sky TV Customer, has got Sky BB Unlimited, Sky Talk Line Rental + Calls (SVBN). My exchange is FTTC Enabled. How can I order Sky FTTC Broadband? The Download Speeds in our Area are 3.0 mbps.... Can someone shed some light on this?

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION