Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14
    Like Tree1Likes

    Clarification

    This is a discussion on Clarification within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Reading the announcement about Sky Fibre.. Is it correct that to get Sky Fibre Broadband you must have a sky ...

    1. #1
      x98's Avatar
      x98
      x98 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Clarification

      Reading the announcement about Sky Fibre.. Is it correct that to get Sky Fibre Broadband you must have a sky TV package also?

      I'm currently on sky unlimited LLU with line rental and calls all in.

      I don't have / want sky TV. I'm nearly at the end of my 1st year with Sky broadband, Mid March sometime.

      Thanks for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,122
      Thanks
      833
      Thanked 2,218 Times in 2,087 Posts

      Re: Clarification

      This is to be confirmed by Sky.

      The way I read the announcement is that the price would be 20 if you have Sky TV.

      It didn't specifically say that you couldn't have Sky Fibre without Sky TV. I would guess that it will be a case of watching the advertising in March/April.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      x98's Avatar
      x98
      x98 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Clarification

      Thanks Scubbie

      I was just wondering whether to jump ship when my 12 months is up in March if I want to get fibre. I'll hang a bit longer to see what transpires.
      Our exchange is planned for June 2012 for fibre, so a while to go yet.

      Thanks again.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,122
      Thanks
      833
      Thanked 2,218 Times in 2,087 Posts

      Re: Clarification

      Since you can't get Fibre until then, I would suggest that waiting would be the best option in your case. Moving to another ISP before then would mean that you could be tied in for a 12 month contract and that you wouldn't benefit from FTTC for at least another year.

      ...but this brings in another question that I am trying to resolve.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Clarification

      One point of course is that if you don't want Sky TV and they require you to have it, taking fibre with BT or one of their resellers would be your best bet. It may cost a bit more at first sight but when you take the cost of TV in, it would be a lot cheaper.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Clarification

      Also to add there will be more packages coming from openreach in March as well, the upto 80/20 one being the most advertised.

      Also the exchange may be enabled in June but you need to see if your cabinet is enabled and then it can take a few weeks to a few months for the cabinet to be fully comissioned.

      So best bet is to wait until your cabinet is enabled and then look to see what is avaliable and at what cost.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #7
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Clarification

      I dont know how long ago it changed but as far as i can remember wasent sky broadband originally only avail to sky tv customers and talk was optional back then, they have now changed to talk inc as standard but avail without tv, with this in mind i would not be at all surprised if they made the shiny new super duper fiber access product a nice bonus option for its sky tv customers only with a possible view to allowing non-tv access to it at a much later date when they have gotten all the new tv customers they can from it like they have done with sky broadband

      this is only my own speculation ofcause and sky are yet to confirm 1 way or another, personally it doesnt bother me as i have sky+ HD anyway and have no intention of getting rid of it, especially now that ill be getting Sky Sports F1 HD for free

    9. #8
      x98's Avatar
      x98
      x98 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Clarification

      Thanks for all the feedback, I'm going to stay till I see what happens with our cab.

    10. #9
      zimmer's Avatar
      zimmer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01229
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: Clarification

      This is to be confirmed by Sky.

      The way I read the announcement is that the price would be 20 if you have Sky TV.

      It didn't specifically say that you couldn't have Sky Fibre without Sky TV. I would guess that it will be a case of watching the advertising in March/April.
      You do indeed need sky tv to get it for 20. without tv it costs 30.
      Last edited by Scubbie; 08-02-12 at 10:31 AM. Reason: put in quotes to make the post clearer

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,122
      Thanks
      833
      Thanked 2,218 Times in 2,087 Posts

      Re: Clarification

      Quote Originally Posted by zimmer View Post
      You do indeed need sky tv to get it for 20. without tv it costs 30.
      Thank you for that important update. Are you in a position that you can quote your source please?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION