Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited

    This is a discussion on Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; First id like to say im not very good with forums so would like to apologise in advance if I ...

    1. #1
      Digby121's Avatar
      Digby121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited

      First id like to say im not very good with forums so would like to apologise in advance if I have posted this in the wrong place.

      I have skys sr101 my daughter has problems getting a signal to her laptop when shes upstairs and my ps4 lags quite a bit when online.

      I decided to buy the netgear r7000 nighthawk a) to try and improve the signal around the house and b) to future proof myself for a few more years.

      As with many people i dont really read my terms and conditions when signing up to things so didnt realise sky doesnt like their customers to have free will!

      I received my router yesterday and have spent approx 14hrs trying to set this thing up.

      If there are any techy people out their that have any clue as to what to do please help it will be very much appreciated.

      Thanks
      Last edited by Digby121; 21-01-14 at 10:55 AM. Reason: mistakes


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Digby121's Avatar
      Digby121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited

      Ok, ive used that wireshark and got the username and password.
      Ive gone into the routers settings added as follows

      Does internet connection need login Yes
      Internet service provider PPPoE
      Login mac@skydsl
      Password NNNLNNLN
      Service name left blank
      Connection mode always on
      Idle timeout 5

      Internet ip address
      Get Dynamically from isp

      Domain name server
      Get automatically from isp

      Router mac address
      Use default address

      I then press apply which then tests it and it still doesnt conect to the internet.
      Are there any of my setting wrong and if so which ones and what should they be.

      Thanks

    4. #3
      jrfer's Avatar
      jrfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rushden
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Northants
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited

      Sky fibre uses the MER protocol.

      Unless your router supports MER instead as well as PPPOE then it will not work with Sky fibre BB.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to jrfer For This Useful Post:

      Digby121 (21-01-14)

    6. #4
      Digby121's Avatar
      Digby121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited

      Cheers for your reply,
      How do i find out if it supports MER?

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited

      Netgear does not include the required bits in their firmware to allow you to connect to Sky's servers with their Cable routers.

      The only way around this is to use your SR101 and set up the Netgear router in the SR101's DMZ settings.

      See this guide: Using the DLink DIR613.

      If there is a custom firmware available (i.e. OpenWRT, DD-WRT or Tomato) you could use that instead. There are guides on this forum for each of those three. Unfortunately as this router is very new, the custom firmware will need to be composed first.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Digby121 (21-01-14)

    9. #6
      Digby121's Avatar
      Digby121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01323
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited

      Thanks for your help, as i've only got 2 weeks left of my contract with Sky I'll move to BT infinity. Would have gone to O2 but sky beat me to it!

      Cheers

    10. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Netgear R7000 Nighthawk access sky fibre unlimited

      No worries.

      In that case I would advise not touching the custom firmware and sticking with the guide until you get BT Infinity.

      When you swap over you will be sent the BT HomeHub 5 which doesn't need the BTO Modem, but you already have that. As for how to log in to BY's servers, you'll need to check their forums.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Digby121 (21-01-14)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION