Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6
    Like Tree3Likes
    • 1 Post By Isitme
    • 2 Post By SilverFox2

    New SKY Router, issues.

    This is a discussion on New SKY Router, issues. within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Overall I am very pleased with its wireless performance. My problem has been using it with Homeplug devices over LAN ...

    1. #1
      SilverFox2's Avatar
      SilverFox2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New SKY Router, issues.

      Overall I am very pleased with its wireless performance.

      My problem has been using it with Homeplug devices over LAN ports.

      Previous Homeplug use was with a Be router and I did not have a single issue over several years.
      Changed to SKY and suddenly there is dropouts (red on middle LED of SKY STB connecting plug). Not continuous just about 1 minute at a time alternate red then orange.
      Tried different LAN ports but all have this problem. Even changed Homeplug but same issue.

      Eventually gave up on LAN and am using a wireless integrated SKY+ STB which is great (non FTTC but SKY LLU over copper).

      My experience indicates I should get better performance via LAN than wireless yet this is not so using my Homeplugs.
      Why is my LAN connection so bad? I ask because I note on a previous thread a post referring to SKY saying there are issues with Homeplug.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,635
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: New SKY Router, issues.

      I have 5 homeplugs of various makes in my house and I have never had any problems using them with both ADSL and fibre with sly.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New SKY Router, issues.

      Its just a guess but I wonder if the router PSU is 'dirtying' the current and causing problems with the homeplugs. You could try plugging the router PSU into a surge protector and see if that helps. Do not plug the Homeplugs into a surge protector as this can effect their performance.
      dog-man likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      SilverFox2's Avatar
      SilverFox2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New SKY Router, issues.

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      I have 5 homeplugs of various makes in my house and I have never had any problems using them with both ADSL and fibre with sly.
      Thanks for reply.
      I note you have a non SKY Router, I had no problems with my Be Router. Perhaps that has something to do with it?

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Its just a guess but I wonder if the router PSU is 'dirtying' the current and causing problems with the homeplugs. You could try plugging the router PSU into a surge protector and see if that helps. Do not plug the Homeplugs into a surge protector as this can effect their performance.
      Thanks for suggestion (and reply of course) I will try that.

    6. #5
      SilverFox2's Avatar
      SilverFox2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      93
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New SKY Router, issues.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Its just a guess but I wonder if the router PSU is 'dirtying' the current and causing problems with the homeplugs. You could try plugging the router PSU into a surge protector and see if that helps. Do not plug the Homeplugs into a surge protector as this can effect their performance.
      Your post set me thinking about 'dirtying' the power.
      In fact I found that I had inadvertently plugged my Router ethernet connected Homeplug into a 3 pin adapter.
      Direct connection to my Ring Main socket completely solved my 'dirty' connection.

      Thanks for changing my thought patterns.
      Isitme and dog-man like this.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New SKY Router, issues.

      That's the problem with Homeplugs, you must never plug them into an extension, you have discovered that using an adapter has the same effect. Useful information for the future.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      SilverFox2 (12-11-13)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION