Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 36
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

    This is a discussion on Sky will be losing a FTTC customer within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Not to worry BT fibre it is then....

    1. #21
      Wingco's Avatar
      Wingco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      296
      Thanks
      19
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      Not to worry BT fibre it is then.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Wingco's Avatar
      Wingco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      296
      Thanks
      19
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      Just put my number into the Sky broadband checker. I selected BT in answer to who is your line provider. Sky tell me, "According to our records this is a Sky telephone number. Please check the number and try again, or sign in as a customer to continue your order." It seems the system can't deal with Broadband on a non Sky phone number.

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      Do you have Sky Talk? If so that may be the reason you are getting this response. What do you get when you dial 150?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      Wingco's Avatar
      Wingco is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      296
      Thanks
      19
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      Quote Originally Posted by Wingco View Post
      Just put my number into the Sky broadband checker. I selected BT in answer to who is your line provider. Sky tell me, "According to our records this is a Sky telephone number. Please check the number and try again, or sign in as a customer to continue your order." It seems the system can't deal with Broadband on a non Sky phone number.
      No, my line is definately with BT. When I dial 150 I get, "Hello, thanks for calling BT."

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      Its probably recognising that it is a Sky Broadband number and is making the assumption, incorrectly, that it is a Sky telephone number.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      lincoln's Avatar
      lincoln is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: mosborough,sheffield
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      sheffield
      Posts
      209
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      i dont use my landline phone at all ,so do sky offer a data only option on their line

    8. #27
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,422
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 371 Times in 362 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      To receive ADSL broadband you also require a telephone line which will attract line rental. Sky do have their talk weekend package which has no additional monthly subscription but with a telephone instrument connected it is still possible to make chargeable calls. Some service providers have a tariff that does not allow chargeable calls to be made but even then there is nothing to stop someone accepting a reverse charge call on such a line.

    9. #28
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,490
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      I don't really see any benefit to staying with BT over Sky.
      Given the new Anytime UK package which includes 0845 number for 5 vs BT's 7.
      Line rental is cheaper.
      AFAIK all providers require you to take their line rental to get fibre services with that provider.

    10. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      Texting between landline phones is hit or miss with Sky. This might be useful for some.

      The only other advantage would be for people who have cards that allow them to dial other countries at a reduced rate.

      Most of these used to be blocked on Sky's network as they used special numbers to gain access.

      Whilst there are a host of countries now covered be Sky in the Anytime International package, it does depend on what someone is doing.

      Basically with the likes of services such as Giff Gaff, Skype and many more, there are very few reasons to stay with BT even for this now.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #30
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      601
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 17 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky will be losing a FTTC customer

      As far as I am aware, as has been pointed out, you used to have issues switching suppliers when you had a LLU phone line (ie. non BT).

      Fibre has a completely different process for leaving supplier and switching to another, I believe ofcom changed this last year? (or i'm dreaming)

      So in short, moving everything to sky, then to BT should you wish too is a lot easier that you think.

      There is a whole post on it on another forum / website but I dont know the rules around cross posting.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION