Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 47 of 47

    Sorry but I don't get it...

    This is a discussion on Sorry but I don't get it... within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by mcphailan AH!! ♫ Getting better all the time ♫ Speeds that are moderate to you guys, but ...

    1. #41
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Sorry but I don't get it...

      Quote Originally Posted by mcphailan View Post
      AH!! ♫ Getting better all the time ♫

      Speeds that are moderate to you guys, but ones I only dreamt of
      You do realise you can get a few more megs?
      But a call to Sky will be required.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sorry but I don't get it...

      You stilll have a lot in hand, call Sky, tell them you have corrected faults in your wiring and would like your line configured for its best speed. You should see 9-10 Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #43
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sorry but I don't get it...

      Thx Exdee and IsItMe, I will give it a go saying what IsItMe suggested. The last time they "throttled up" was with my previous awful config, so I do hope for a lot more.

    5. #44
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sorry but I don't get it...

      Interesting snippet from sky help. So if I don't see re-testing showing up on my sky account by next week, I'll call them.

      If you make improvements to your home set-up and your line becomes able to support faster connection speeds, our network monitoring systems will automatically start re-testing your line and try to increase the speeds. It normally takes 3 or 4 days of your line showing improved performance before the re-testing will begin, and a further ten days of testing to select the new settings for your line. You can check the testing progress under Service Details in the My Broadband section of My Sky.

    6. #45
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Sorry but I don't get it...

      I wouldn't rely on DLM to kick in to improve your speed automatically.

      Typically DLM will kick in again of there are problems with you line.

      If DLM has completed (see your MySky page), then give Sky a call and ask someone to manually configure your line. You may need to call back a few times as not everyone is able to do this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #46
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sorry but I don't get it...

      ok, thx, I am too trusting

    8. #47
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sorry but I don't get it...

      UPDATE - I rang and they got me up to 8 Mbps. I asked for 10, she sounded a bit shocked, but hey a bit of a result?

      Thanks for advice to call them.

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION