Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 46

    Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

    This is a discussion on Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm having the exact same problem but opendns doesnt seem to solve it. I have no malware and everythings setup ...

    1. #21
      Swan's Avatar
      Swan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 013831291
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      I'm having the exact same problem but opendns doesnt seem to solve it. I have no malware and everythings setup with openDNS. Any ideas folks. I'm tech savy but still cant get to the bottom of this one.

      It foreign boards that i only have the problem with.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      Run a trace route from the command prompt for example:
      You'll probably find it's getting stuck somewhere - would be helpful for you to:
      1, Tell us what site/sites they are
      2, Tell us where the trace route gets stuck at.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    4. #23
      Swan's Avatar
      Swan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 013831291
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      1 general failure? isnt even hoping?

    5. #24
      Swan's Avatar
      Swan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 013831291
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      my pals can get on the sites fine also

    6. #25
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      1, Tell us what site/sites they are
      Sounds like a configuration problem on your own machine at present.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    7. #26
      Swan's Avatar
      Swan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 013831291
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      outlawmuscle.com

      No addware, firewall off, no bloks in router..getting me stumped.
      Cheers for the help

    8. #27
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      Got no problem accessing that site here.
      Could you log into the routers configuration interface and try pinging it from there?
      In addition double check you have entered the OpenDNS server settings into both "Primary" and "Secondary" DNS Servers and make sure that you have put them in for the correct ethernet card.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    9. #28
      Swan's Avatar
      Swan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 013831291
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      Yup works fine from router

      PING 124.217.227.11 (124.217.227.11): 56 data bytes
      56 bytes from 124.217.227.11: icmp_seq=0 ttl=46 time=310.0 ms
      56 bytes from 124.217.227.11: icmp_seq=1 ttl=46 time=300.0 ms
      56 bytes from 124.217.227.11: icmp_seq=2 ttl=46 time=305.0 ms
      56 bytes from 124.217.227.11: icmp_seq=3 ttl=46 time=300.0 ms

      --- 124.217.227.11 ping statistics ---
      4 packets transmitted, 4 packets received, 0% packet loss
      round-trip min/avg/max = 300.0/303.7/310.0 ms

    10. #29
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      Can you check the DNS settings in the PC and that they are for the right network adapter?
      Also did you put the IP address of the site into the router or the site name? If you only put the IP address in please try with the actual site name/web address as using the IP address bypasses DNS!

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    11. #30
      Swan's Avatar
      Swan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 013831291
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2010
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky blocking some site, with reply from Sky

      Yup right ip address. pinged the addy and ip similar results. Pinged both DNS server and the actual site ip, both worked

      I've updated all my controllers primary and secondardy open dns settings, even the contollers i dont use...lol running out of ideas here myself

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION