Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 63

    Upstream Snr Margin

    This is a discussion on Upstream Snr Margin within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky seem to be going out of theyr way to slow people down I have read numerous posts tonight about ...

    1. #1
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Upstream Snr Margin

      Sky seem to be going out of theyr way to slow people down

      I have read numerous posts tonight about people with good lines being told they can only have 4meg etc

      anyway here's my story

      I was told my line was only capable of 4meg
      when ordering

      When i phoned tonight i found out my line was locked on gdmt and would never train to adsl2+

      when i forced the issue they enabled adsl2+
      capped at 10meg i pushed some more they set it to 16meg and .6 odd upstream
      seeing that i clearly had plenty of snr margin left i pushed the issue
      and he said thats the max speed sky offer

      i pointed out that no its 20meg and 1.3 up
      he set 20 meg but said upstream was max of 768 (may have been a tad lower cant remember)

      i really pushed the issue and he set it to 1meg

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 20414 kbps 934 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 8.4 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 9.0 db

      downstream is quite stable at 7.2db Margin and doesnt fluctuate more than 7.2 to 7.4

      Upstream they seem to have a target margin of 8 or more set at the dslam
      though they insist its 7
      if it was 7 i would be connecting at 1024 and requesting they up the cap to 1100 odd

      most isp's set the target upstream snr to 6 which would get me even more

      has anyone managed to get sky to lower the upstream target snr

      as it seems like sky are pulling all the stops out to get people syncing as low as possible and it gets on my nerves


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      User05's Avatar
      User05 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      3,030
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 171 Times in 164 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      most isp's set the target upstream snr to 6 which would get me even more

      has anyone managed to get sky to lower the upstream target snr

      as it seems like sky are pulling all the stops out to get people syncing as low as possible and it gets on my nerves
      Sky can't set the downstream/upstream target SNR to 8db. Lowest sky go is 7db target SNR.

      You're simply speculating about sky 'pulling all the stops' to give people slow speeds. If you think about it, sky would have no reason to do this. What good would it do? A few kbps upstream surely won't make a difference.
      Last edited by User05; 30-04-10 at 07:24 AM.

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,377
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      Sky can only set the SNR to 7, 9 and 12dB up or down - there's a possibility you're capped at 1Mbps and as such you sync slightly lower but as said, what an extra 10KB/sec??

      Anyway, you shouldn't have called as you hadn't even started DLM (do people not read their welcome letters??). You've potentially got an agent in trouble - still, who cares so long as you're happy. You were advised of DLM in your other thread and fully acknowledged it so why did you call?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      Nobody gets the 1.3mb upstream, I cant even get it and I have nearly half the attenuation you have.

      I know my line is set at 20mb/1300k with both 7db targets for both, I still only get 1mb upload,
      it seems to be more a limit with the dslam or at least the configuration of it as I could get 1.3mb upload easily on o2 but they use a different type of dslam.

      Oh and as said you cant set the SNR lower than 7db even if the agent wanted to, its just a drop
      down box of 7/9/12

    6. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      ok we will see what happens during dlm
      i just find it odd that my noise margin is between 8.5 and 9 at 934
      when they say the target is set to 7

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,377
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      target being the word - during the day it'll go up and down

      you could try rebooting first thing in the morning but you may find this leads to instability issues. Should've just left it and waited for DLM to start in the first place as opposed to ringing
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      i have been watching it for the last 18 hours
      it doesnt seem to move much

      Connection Speed 20402 kbps 984 kbps
      Line Attenuation 18.0 db 8.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 8.0 db

      is what its synced at atm

      Downstream has been between 7.2 and 7.6 at 20402
      Upstream has been between 7.5 and 8.0 at 984

    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,377
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      reboot first thing in the morning and see what you get speed wise, but bare in mind it get a bit iffy come the evening
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      will do
      but think im gona not touch it until dlm finishes now

    11. #10
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      Next door had sky installed the other week
      and theyr upstream has been capped at 1216
      i have always got 984 with the sagem

      Anyway i have just replaced the Sagem with a d-link same as theyrs

      and straight away

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 20479 kbps 1023 kbps
      Line Attenuation 17.0db 9.6db
      Noise Margin 7.4db 8.0db

      I knew i was capped at 1024 upstream and sky have always denied it

     

     
    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION