Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 63

    Upstream Snr Margin

    This is a discussion on Upstream Snr Margin within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You're not capped, the line will be set to 20Mb down and 1.3Mb up...even if it IS capped at 1Mb ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,376
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      You're not capped, the line will be set to 20Mb down and 1.3Mb up...even if it IS capped at 1Mb you'll not get anymore out of it anyway
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      If i sync at adsl 1
      I get 1024 every single time on the sagem not 1 byte under not one over
      adsl 2 it was always 984

      The first time the d-link synced it connected at 1023 at 8db of noise margin

      next door gets a 1216 sync at 6.7 margin

      I have had row's with sky either capping me at 1024 or setting my margin to high

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,376
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      You're margin will be set to 7dB, as will your neighbours. Sky ONLY use SNRs of 7, 9 or 12 dB for both up and down

      Also, you can't compare your line to your neighbours as they're different physical lines. Just cause their's connects higher doesn't mean yours will. Also, are you on the SVBN? Are they on the SVBN? The line profiles are different on that to on the old DSLAMs
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      we are both on the easynet kit

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,376
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      Which can either be the DSLAM or ISAM and without knowing which I can't be certain as whether you're on a set profile or not.

      I think the SVBN profile is 20mbps down/1Mbps up but I'm not certain
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      either way im far happier with this d-link
      it has 64meg of ram for starters
      and it has always annoyed me that i cant sync at over 1000 upstream

      it may not sound much but it makes a big difference to me with the upstream

    8. #17
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      its 1024 for sure
      as a forced adsl 1 link gets 11db of margin on the upstream

      But sky sware black and blue its set to 1.3meg
      when i was first connected i had blue murder getting it set from 768 to 1024
      after speaking to numerous supervisors they said they aloud to goto 1meg now

      which i just took at the time to get it up from 768 and then kept phoning
      about getting it set to 1.3

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,376
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      The only thing you can do is call and ask again but if it is set to 1.3Mbps then it's just the line not giving you more. Only CST can tell you how it's configured. It's either believe them or call again...

      Does the lack of .3 of a meg make that much difference?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,476
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      My main use is for upstream

      My modem states that the line is good for 1186
      Next doors states that its good for 1220

      If he sync's at 1216

      I should sync at atleast 1150

    11. #20
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,376
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upstream Snr Margin

      But what difference does it actually make to not have that 100KB/sec or so that you're missing (as that's all your missing going by the fact you're 1dB over default)?

      As I said before just cause your neighbour gets more doesn't mean you will. That extra few meters in line length can make all the difference. My parents line says max is 6.5Mbps but they only ever get 5.5Mbps and they're on Connect. I don't kick off at Sky because the line trains in at the best it can with it's noise margin and there's nothing they can do. It's the same here - just cause the line can, in theory, go faster it might not be in the best interest of the connection to do so
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION