Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    Should I move from BT Broadband ?

    This is a discussion on Should I move from BT Broadband ? within the Sky Broadband feedback forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I went for the Standard package as there is now way my line will go above 8meg. I also checked ...

    1. #21
      browners's Avatar
      browners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      I went for the Standard package as there is now way my line will go above 8meg. I also checked with the support and they have assured me I will be on an LLU slot.
      I did not bother with the voucher scheme thing, I just wanted my broadband and for around 6 quid odd a month I consider that very reasonable (excluding BT Line rental)

      Go live on Friday I'll be in touch with the results when I am sure all is well.

      PS why did you ask what package ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      If you used Quidco (it's got nothing to do with vouchers btw and very easy to use) then you could have got O2 for free for a whole year, in fact you would have made a profit of 7.50 out of the deal.

    4. #23
      browners's Avatar
      browners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      Evening all. As you can see I now have new shiney broadband. Arrived home and switched on. No connection on the old router. Plugged in the O2 one and up we went.

      First time on the Thompson router and tbh the interface sucks. Think I will be sticking this one in the old dusty as a spare sack.

      Tested speedtest.net and getting 3.7down average. Thats a huge increase from an average 2meg. Please bear in mind I didnt expect anything much higher.

      Not sure how to get the stats from this router. Any tips let me know. Gonna poke about and see whats happening

    5. #24
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      To get your stats you need to login to the router as SuperUser, the password will either be the routers serial no - CPxxxxxxxxx (all uppercase) or O2Br0ad64nd.

      Click on Broadband Connection, DSL Connection and then the Details link on the top right hand side of the page.

    6. #25
      browners's Avatar
      browners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      Thanks Neil,

      Just run another speedtest and http://www.speedtest.net/result/635641870.png its rising

      Thanks for the reccommendations to btw.

      Logged in as SuperUser but still cannot seem to find any good stats. All I can see are the normal stats when logged in as Admin ?
      Uptime: 0 days, 2:13:01
      DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,191 / 4,264
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00

      I was wanting to see Line Att and SNR etc as well. Is this possible ?
      Last edited by browners; 27-11-09 at 11:02 PM.

    7. #26
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      If you are really logged in as SuperUser and followed my instructions above the full set of stats should be visible. Did you click the Details link?

      Maybe this will help http://192.168.1.254/cgi/b/dsl/dt/?be=0&l0=1&l1=0

    8. #27
      browners's Avatar
      browners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      Good job

      OK stats available now. I seem to be on ADSL2+ coerrect ?
      Speeds are great so far, but tbh would rather have slightly more Down than Up. Anyway cannot complain I am still almost doube than BT and totaly unrestricted .... I can actually use my connection twice as good and when ever ''I'' choose .

      line stats now

      Uptime: 0 days, 4:06:03
      DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,191 / 4,264
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.0
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 28.0 / 51.5
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 7.0
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / BDCM
      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Link (Remote): 0
      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 62 / 16,860
      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 62 / 58
      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 465 / 50

    9. #28
      browners's Avatar
      browners is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      Good job

      Worked a treat (only I have changed the subnet and network on the LAN so entered my own lan address, can never be to carefull) OK stats available now. I seem to be on ADSL2+ coerrect ?
      Speeds are great so far, but tbh would rather have slightly more Down than Up. Anyway cannot complain I am still getting doube the speed than BT supplied and totaly unrestricted .... I can actually use my connection twice as good and when ever ''I'' choose .

      line stats now

      Uptime: 0 days, 4:06:03
      DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,191 / 4,264
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 19.0
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 28.0 / 51.5
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 6.0 / 7.0
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / BDCM
      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      Loss of Link (Remote): 0
      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0
      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 62 / 16,860
      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 62 / 58
      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 465 / 50

      Gonna wait the 10 days then start to tinker with the internal wiring and ask for tweaks etc.

      One HAPPY Punter

    10. #29
      neilmcl's Avatar
      neilmcl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sherwood
      Broadband ISP: O2 Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      990
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I move from BT Broadband ?

      If you have a test socket you could try plugging into that to see if that improves things. TBH, wth that line attentuation I'd expect to see at least 6.5mbps.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION