Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    Like Tree3Likes
    • 1 Post By Isitme
    • 1 Post By dog-man
    • 1 Post By Scubbie

    Is Sky based in Surrey

    This is a discussion on Is Sky based in Surrey within the Sky Broadband exchange information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I keep getting these offers coming on when surfing, that state I am in Carshalton/Merton/surrey part of the UK, is ...

    1. #1
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is Sky based in Surrey

      I keep getting these offers coming on when surfing, that state I am in Carshalton/Merton/surrey part of the UK, is this where Sky is based or one of their major hubs is?

      I am nowhere near these areas, I live in Kent

      How is it picking up that I am in a different area.

      Is it picking up Sky's hub signal or mine?

      Sorry to sound confusing. But I thought an ip address can be picked up by the exact area where it is based.

      So if these offers (annoying ones) come up they would say I am in Kent, not the other side of London?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Is Sky based in Surrey

      It sounds like the site is attempting to use your IP Address or a WiFi router to locate you and making a right mess of things.

      Sky's address for their Internet services is in London. The info below is from their WhoIs database entry:

      Sky Network Services
      1 Brick Lane
      London
      E1 6PU

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      wolfiebrian's Avatar
      wolfiebrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2012
      Posts
      99
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is Sky based in Surrey

      It's not just one site it's a number of them, that is what got me thinking, one site yes, but when it happens continually.

      Is this something I should do to prevent them using my IP address? Sounds like a security risk to me.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Is Sky based in Surrey

      It really depends on the sites.

      Try this link: Where Am I - See your Current Location on Google Maps

      With my Win 8 laptop it found me. On my Win 7 laptop, Win XP desktop and Win 8 desktop it placed me in the middle of the West end (bottom of Harley Street).

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Is Sky based in Surrey

      Google Maps on my PC puts me right in the centre of the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall as does What Is My IP Address At IP-Adress.com - Whois, My IP, & Free Tools! Google Maps on my Nexus 7, is absolutely spot on.

      I can't remember being properly located by What is since I moved to the SVBN. Previously using BT kit, it was always pretty close.
      Scubbie likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,634
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Is Sky based in Surrey

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It really depends on the sites.

      Try this link: Where Am I - See your Current Location on Google Maps

      With my Win 8 laptop it found me. On my Win 7 laptop, Win XP desktop and Win 8 desktop it placed me in the middle of the West end (bottom of Harley Street).
      I just clicked on this and apparently I am in the white house!

      I wasn't aware I had been elected as the president of the US!
      Scubbie likes this.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Is Sky based in Surrey

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      I wasn't aware I had been elected as the president of the US!
      Well you are just "180mtrs from the cabinet."
      gymno likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION