Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

    This is a discussion on How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill? within the Sky Broadband exchange information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi guys, been away from UK for a while and just got a new flat in Notting Hill, was wondering ...

    1. #1
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lightbulb How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

      hi guys,

      been away from UK for a while and just got a new flat in Notting Hill, was wondering if anyone here on the forum lives in the area and how is Fibre Optic... from the site checker thingie it seems it's there, postcode is W11 St James' Gardens.

      Central Seems to be Fulham according to SamKnows SamKnows - Broadband Availability - Fulham (WRFULM) Exchange - today I was at the premises and I have seen the lovely green fibre cabinets nearby, so should be fine, but well just checkin.....

      thanks
      Gabrio


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

      As you saw on SamKnows, the exchange has FTTC available in some parts.

      To find out if your address can specifically get FTTC use the site lined below. You will need to select the address checker.

      https://www.btwholesale.com/pages/st...y_Checker.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      As you saw on SamKnows, the exchange has FTTC available in some parts.

      To find out if your address can specifically get FTTC use the site lined below. You will need to select the address checker.

      https://www.btwholesale.com/pages/st...y_Checker.html
      hi Scubbie,

      just been at the flat this morning and I located the nearest fibre cabinet at just approx. 160-180 meters according to maps... so hopefully I should get a decent connection ;-) isn't it?

      thanks
      Gabrio

      - - - Updated - - -

      this cabinet btw.... seems the 288 ports one isn't it?cabinet.jpg

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,078
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

      Using the BTW checker above you would have been given a cabinet number. Is that FTTC cabinet close to normal BT cabinet with that number on? If not you'll need to find that cabinet first as that will be the one you are connected to.

      As for the number of ports inside, BTO initially didn't fill up all the cabinet to the max when they were installed. Without seeing inside your guess is as good as mine as to how many potential ports are there, let alone available. Basically don't worry about this though. When you order a FTTC product you'll soon find out if there are any spare sockets available.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      gabrio.linari (29-03-14)

    7. #5
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Using the BTW checker above you would have been given a cabinet number. Is that FTTC cabinet close to normal BT cabinet with that number on? If not you'll need to find that cabinet first as that will be the one you are connected to.

      As for the number of ports inside, BTO initially didn't fill up all the cabinet to the max when they were installed. Without seeing inside your guess is as good as mine as to how many potential ports are there, let alone available. Basically don't worry about this though. When you order a FTTC product you'll soon find out if there are any spare sockets available.
      hi

      I guess I will find along the way when I order it, I just inputted the phone number in the checker and he says he cannot find any BT phone line, a bit weird since at the property there are actually 2 BT phone lines with a "special" BT box and they work fine - hope that it won't cause major issues and engineers will be able to sort it out..

      ciao!
      Gabrio

    8. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

      I just inputted the phone number in the checker and he says he cannot find any BT phone line, a bit weird
      It depends on who the line rental is paid to. If it is Sky or another LLU provider it will not be recognised as a BT line. Using the post code is the only way to get a return.

      Using a post code for St James' Gardens gives this result FTTC Check

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      gabrio.linari (29-03-14)

    10. #7
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It depends on who the line rental is paid to. If it is Sky or another LLU provider it will not be recognised as a BT line. Using the post code is the only way to get a return.

      Using a post code for St James' Gardens gives this result FTTC Check
      Cheers, yeah seems ok as far as I can see from that... ordering soon. thanks guys!

    11. #8
      gabrio.linari's Avatar
      gabrio.linari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How's Fibre Optic In Notting Hill?

      Quote Originally Posted by gabrio.linari View Post
      Cheers, yeah seems ok as far as I can see from that... ordering soon. thanks guys!
      managed to get an order through, we got it sorted out, activation around the end of the month... looking forward to it now

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION