Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Bridgend Exchange

    This is a discussion on Bridgend Exchange within the Sky Broadband exchange information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Major outage yesterday in the bridgend exchange lost all broadband phone etc from 10am until this morning had to call ...

    1. #1
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Bridgend Exchange

      Major outage yesterday in the bridgend exchange lost all broadband phone etc from 10am until this morning had to call SKY from my mobile no explanation what was wrong, you will just have to wait until it comes back on, sky customer service is rubbish.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      The only information I can find is here: Service Status

      Loss of broadband service in multiple areas

      We are aware of an issue with the broadband service in the Bridgend, Llantwit major, Pontycymmer and the Pencoed areas.
      We are working hard to resolve this and apologise for any inconvenience caused.


      Date issue was reported
      15th January, 11:22

      Affected areas
      Bridgend Llantwit major Pontycymmer Pencoed



      (same for Sky Talk)

      It looks like it was a fairly major issue affecting quite a large area. This tends to suggest an issue with an exchange or the cabling.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      They post these service status but can't get online to find out anyway.

      Like a computer tries boots up finds a keyboard error and says press F1 to continue

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      Many people have a mobile phone with a 3G or 4G Internet contract these days, so they would have an alternative method to check.

      At the same time, the people in the call centres should also be able to provide the same information, provided you can phone them.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      Down again this evening. My fibre is out but my mother in laws ADSL (also sky) is OK.

      Not very happy with two outages inside 10 days.

    7. #6
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      I'm on the unlimited and mine is OK, Everybody else from the bridgend exchange can get fiber I'm only 400 mtrs away and i can't

    8. #7
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      Quote Originally Posted by rasp54 View Post
      I'm on the unlimited and mine is OK, Everybody else from the bridgend exchange can get fiber I'm only 400 mtrs away and i can't

      I'm on Aberkenfig exchange. Working fine now but very odd.

    9. #8
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      Glad to hear it M8 as i said my M8s in sarn, brackla, bridgend can get it i live in town centre and i can't

    10. #9
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      You are probably so close to the exchange - there is no cabinet.

      Friend of mine in Bridgend town had same problem - but he's moved now and can get Fibre, lol.

      Sucks really but that's the game we all play!

    11. #10
      rasp54's Avatar
      rasp54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BRIDGEND
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2013
      Location
      BRIDGEND
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Bridgend Exchange

      I have a cabinet near me M8 no:11 it is sited near the rugby club according to bt website it was supposed to be live last march. There was an argument between the council and bt about resiteing it, but after speaking to them they where not going to move it and had informed bt.It is supposed to be feb and march this year

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION