Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Confused with different info.

    This is a discussion on Confused with different info. within the Sky Broadband exchange information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Can someone just clarify what info is most accurate. BT open reach tells me my exchange will be sept ...

    1. #1
      Shawpe's Avatar
      Shawpe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Plymstock
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Confused with different info.

      Hi,

      Can someone just clarify what info is most accurate.

      BT open reach tells me my exchange will be sept 2013
      Sam Knows says it is active already.
      Sky tell me they can't do it yet, but this could be a delay from them updating their systems.
      BT wholesale says March 2014

      and to confuse me even further, a Talk Talk rep knocked on my door the other evening saying my exchange had been updated and they could offer me fibre.

      So I would be very appreciative if someone could clarify who I should be listening too.

      Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,422
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 371 Times in 362 Posts

      Re: Confused with different info.

      Hi Shawpe and welcome to the forum. It would help if we knew which exchange your line is connected to. The best way to do this is to edit your profile and complete "Exchange" with either the name of your exchange or the exchange code which you can obtain from Sam Knows.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Shawpe (22-09-13)

    5. #3
      Shawpe's Avatar
      Shawpe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Plymstock
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused with different info.

      Hi Seawright,

      Thank you for the welcome.

      I have now updated my profile, it is the Plymstock exchange in Plymouth.

    6. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Confused with different info.

      According to Samknows your exchange has been updated, but some parts only. You may or may not be on a cabinet which has been upgraded to fibre. Its a wee bit out of date but this tool may give you an idea whether fibre is available to you or not.
      FTTC Check

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Shawpe (22-09-13)

    8. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,422
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 371 Times in 362 Posts

      Re: Confused with different info.

      I don't know where Samknows get their information from but I would say that they are wrong. If Openreach (OR) say that your exchange is not currently accepting orders then you are not going to get FTTC from any provider who uses OR to provide the connection.

      Some service providers could accept orders based on speculation but they would not be able to fulfil them before OR declare that the exchange is accepting orders.

      The webpage at Where and when - Superfast Fibre Broadband is usually kept up to date. Nine exchanges changed status from CS to AO on 16th September so I would expect Plymstock to either change status during the next fortnight or for the forecast date to be revised.

      Just because your exchange is accepting orders does not mean that you will be able to get FTTC. My exchange began accepting orders in November last year. Some cabinets are still awaiting activation while others do not feature in the current roll-out plans.
      Last edited by seawright; 21-09-13 at 06:18 PM. Reason: layout

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      Shawpe (22-09-13)

    10. #6
      Shawpe's Avatar
      Shawpe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Plymstock
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused with different info.

      I guess I will just have to wait it out for a few weeks for BT to either update their openreach page to accepting orders or decide it has been delayed.

      Is it possible to join sky on their unlimited package and then to upgrade to fibre if/when my exchange is upgraded?

    11. #7
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,490
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Confused with different info.

      Quote Originally Posted by Shawpe View Post
      I guess I will just have to wait it out for a few weeks for BT to either update their openreach page to accepting orders or decide it has been delayed.

      Is it possible to join sky on their unlimited package and then to upgrade to fibre if/when my exchange is upgraded?
      Yes, provided it is a Sky LLU exchange - which Sam Knows says it is.

      Have a look for a fibre cabinet in the streets nearby.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to bubblegun For This Useful Post:

      Shawpe (22-09-13)

    13. #8
      Shawpe's Avatar
      Shawpe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Plymstock
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused with different info.

      Well at least if I can sign up now and still get fibre if it becomes available.

      Thanks for everyone's input.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION