Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29
    Like Tree1Likes

    Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed?

    This is a discussion on Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed? within the Sky Broadband exchange information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by nin73 Ok, can we now get back to my question. "Apprently it can take 10 days for ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by nin73 View Post
      Ok, can we now get back to my question. "Apprently it can take 10 days for the speed to increase"?

      I am still on under 4mbs this morning.
      DLM can take up to 3 days to kick in and then up to 10 days to finally stabilise. Experience shows that the better your line is the shorter the training period, some have got to their final speed 3-4 days after DLM starts.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Sky start everyone on. 4mbps I think it should reboot maybe every day keep an eye on your router stats


      Sent using TapaTalk for iPhone

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed?

      It does not actually reboot, it resyncs with the exchange, usually in the early hours of the morning. That is the first indication that DLM has started.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: vodafone supafast 2
      Router: vodafone isp router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed?

      sometimes increasing broadband speed doesn't always help but its not about speed usually its about quality of the line and how far your from the cabinet box or exchange that helps allot.

    6. #25
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 100 Times in 90 Posts

      Re: Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by nin73 View Post
      Ok, can we now get back to my question. "Apprently it can take 10 days for the speed to increase"?

      I am still on under 4mbs this morning.
      Yes Skys DLM is funny like that, it starts you off on a low speed and then if the line is stable slowly increases it.

    7. #26
      francisuk22's Avatar
      francisuk22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWMIL / Mill Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Edgware
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by dragon2611 View Post
      Yes Skys DLM is funny like that, it starts you off on a low speed and then if the line is stable slowly increases it.
      Thats gonna take along time with me haha, My line estimated between 9.6MB-16.6MB they should start you off with the first 9.6MB then go up from there. Never mind Sky

      Also this website is useful not sure it works on Sky but try, http://www.dslchecker.bt.com/adsl/adslchecker.welcome example, From my Address Checker (Dont have a BT landlane yet)

      Address X XXXXXX, EDGWARE, HA8 XXX on Exchange MILL HILL is served by Cabinet 27 = Mines on Cabinet 27 (No idea why im not on Edgware/LWEDG exchange even thats closer to it too within 1.0 mi) Never mind

      WBC FTTC Up to 53.5 Up to 13.2 -- Available (Sky Fibre Unlimited etc) Download up to 53.5 & Upload speed 13.2
      WBC ADSL 2+ Up to 8 -- 5.5 to 12.5 Available (Sky Broadband Unlimited/Basic)
      WBC ADSL 2+ Annex M Up to 8 Up to 1 5.5 to 12.5 Available
      ADSL Max Up to 5.5 -- 4.5 to 8 Available
      WBC Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
      Fixed Rate 2 -- -- Available
      Other Offerings
      Fibre Multicast -- -- -- Available
      Last edited by francisuk22; 10-04-13 at 11:06 PM.

    8. #27
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed?

      As I explained in response to your other post, the process will normally take up to 10 days. In many cases it will take fewer.

      It has more to do with the quality of the line than the connection speed. Simple things such as ensuring the use of the Master socket and avoiding extensions will help.

      If you have any extensions give some consideration to using a filtered faceplate, rather than the supplied microfilters.

      When you get connected, use the checker available in this site's tools to gauge a more accurate estimate of your connection speed. It relies on the Line Attenuation, not an estimate which is obviously confusing you at this stage.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    9. #28
      francisuk22's Avatar
      francisuk22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWMIL / Mill Hill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2013
      Location
      Edgware
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will a change from connect to sky unlimited increase my broadband speed?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      When you get connected, use the checker available in this site's tools to gauge a more accurate estimate of your connection speed. It relies on the Line Attenuation, not an estimate which is obviously confusing you at this stage.
      Thankyou! Hopefully this Friday the 12th Openreach and Sky will have activated my line, So it says on the Sky Hub SR101 box. Im just sick of Virgin Media routing to YouTube, Is really awful and been going on since October 2012 and now we are in March 2013 but if you wont to read it then knock yourselfs out (Dont have to register to view) http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/.../1601592#M9556 & http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WtrLN-_SenU
      Last edited by francisuk22; 11-04-13 at 12:05 AM. Reason: spelling

    10. #29
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts
      We've heard of several problems eith VM's traffic management policy.

      On any of Sky's Unlimited products there is no such thing. However we do get reports from across the UK where the backhaul is struggling from time to time. Sky fo fix these but it may take a couple of months.

      The net result during the time when an exchange is affected is that all traffic during peak hours is affected.

      Sent from my Galaxy SII using Forum Runner

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION