Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    What exactly is '21CN'?

    This is a discussion on What exactly is '21CN'? within the Sky Broadband exchange information forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just been informed that my exchange will be enabled for '21CN' next March. Can someone explain exactly what ...

    1. #1
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      What exactly is '21CN'?

      I have just been informed that my exchange will be enabled for '21CN' next March.

      Can someone explain exactly what 21CN is?

      I assume it will mean at least higher speeds.

      More than the 16mb I am getting now with sky?




      dog-man


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      googled and found this

    4. #3
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,351
      Thanks
      372
      Thanked 158 Times in 152 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post

      Can someone explain exactly what 21CN is?

      dog-man
      Here's some good stuff on 21CN:

      Samknows Broadband - 21CN Overview

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      At the moment, BT have an internal, private network which it uses for normal digitised voice telephone connections and, in the case of non LLU'd Internet Service Providers, for broadband connections between the exchange and customers' chosen ISPs.

      This private network is implemented as an ATM (Asynchronous Transer Mode) network. Describing how ATM works is a bit complicated, but suffice to say that although it's a great system for digital telephone systems, it's not so good for moving broadband data around.

      So BT's plan is to replace its ATM network with a private network which uses the same protocols as the Internet we're all familiar with, although it won't actually use the public Internet. So whilst it could be called "an internet network", it won't actually be "the Internet network".

      What changes will the customer see? Well, not many really. Voice services will stay the same as they are now, but BT will be more able to accommodate the every increasing demands that people are placing on telecommunication systems.

      The important thing for ADSL users, however, is that whilst BT are kitting out the exchanges to use 21CN, they are also planning to upgrade their ADSL systems so that they can use ADSL2+, with speeds of up to 24Mbit/sec. At the moment, the only way to get a broadband connection faster than 8Mbit/sec, you have to use an LLU provider (like Sky) or a cable TV operator (like Virgin Media). But once BT start offering ADSL2+ services, many more ISPs will start to offer ADSL2+ broadband connections, increasing choice and promoting competition in the "over 8Mbit" ADSL market.

      Unfortunately, none of this will actually provide you with faster broadband than you can currently get with Sky, unless your line is capable of more than 16Mbit/sec (or if you currently have Sky Broadband Connect, a line capable of more than 8Mbit/sec). If the wire between your house and your local exchange only allows, say, 4Mbit/sec, then 21CN isn't going to change that at all.

    6. #5
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      I live about 200 mtrs from the exchange!


      dog-man

    7. #6
      iKennett's Avatar
      iKennett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      It is not just how far you are from the exchange but the cable length. You could live on the door step but if the cable travels the world before it gets to you then your stuck!

    8. #7
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,651
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      I get almost the full 16mb now on max.

      I am sure if I was to renew my internal cables and junction box, I could squeeze a little more out of it.

      I know for sure that all external cables were renewed about 3 years ago.

      The BT checker tells me that I should get upto 24mb when available.


      dog-man

    9. #8
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub SR203 / 4.2
      Sky TV: Q 2TB & 4xMinis
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      The Hyde
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      Quote Originally Posted by dog-man View Post
      I get almost the full 16mb now on max.

      I am sure if I was to renew my internal cables and junction box, I could squeeze a little more out of it.

      I know for sure that all external cables were renewed about 3 years ago.

      The BT checker tells me that I should get upto 24mb when available.


      dog-man
      Hi dog-man, I'm very curious that what's your "renewed" external cables looks like?

      Because my old external wiring looks like this:




      the one on the left hand, shaping like a U shape, wiring going up - black cable.

      My old fashion 1973 non-NTE5 LJU2/2A PABX BT Master IDC socket looks like this:




      And my old junction box looks like this:



      I have almost 16MB - 15323Kbps with 31db or 30.5db att sometimes, and I'm 965 metres away from Maida Vale Exchange or 2.2 km away from the exchange.
      Last edited by jonathanen; 31-03-08 at 01:49 AM.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSRAD
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Fab Fibre
      Router: NOWTV Hub 2
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Peasedown St. John, Bath
      Posts
      9,379
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      without lowering your delays - you won't get higher...

      your line is configured to 16384kbps but shows as 15323 cause of overheads in transmission...you've got a good connection on what look like a shoddy line!!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      jonathanen's Avatar
      jonathanen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub SR203 / 4.2
      Sky TV: Q 2TB & 4xMinis
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      The Hyde
      Posts
      223
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What exactly is '21CN'?

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      without lowering your delays - you won't get higher...

      your line is configured to 16384kbps but shows as 15323 cause of overheads in transmission...you've got a good connection on what look like a shoddy line!!!
      Thank you very much, my point exactly!! I totally agree with you on that one!! My phone line does look like shoddy!! That's what I'm been trying to say to BT fault dept, they keep saying its fine after they have tested my phone line when I know its not! But I keep on saying that sometimes I hear pops, crackles, sometimes its clear. So they send BT Engineer called Tony to check it out, he didn't seem to care, couldn't wait to leave my house faster enough. Even he knew the wiring was too old, when he check out my junction box, the cable on the right snapped, but what he did? He just joined a little of new wire to the old cable, so that the wire connected to back to my old junction box.

      The same thing happened to him again when he went outside my house to check my external phone wiring, he just did another small joining a small new wire to the old cable job again, and he says it fine and I won't charge you 116 fee because your wires did snapped twice, so I let you off and left.

      I bet that I'll get around between 28 - 30db att, after the brand new wiring has been done, with more improving Noise margin as well.

      What shall I do? Shall I tell BT that I want my whole phone line rewired with total brand new wiring from scratch? Or shall I wait until their 21CN completed which it be 18/08/2008, according to samknows Broadband web site
      Last edited by jonathanen; 31-03-08 at 03:58 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION