Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

On off On Demand

This is a discussion on On off On Demand within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; So a while back I noticed our 2nd older Sky+ HD box upstairs had stopped showing on demand, I checked ...

AJStevens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horley (SDHRLY)
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2 Unltd 76Mb and Virgin 200Mb
      Router: Mikrotik
      Sky TV: DRX895 DRX895WL
      Thanks

On off On Demand

So a while back I noticed our 2nd older Sky+ HD box upstairs had stopped showing on demand, I checked the network settings, all FAIL.

I checked the cable, network switch and all lit up fine, I'll tell you now I am an IT Infrastructure Engineer so I understand the technicals of networking. It is not the network switch, my router, my cables, I checked all of that.

The Sky+ HD box would not even save/apply any manual IP settings I gave it. I tried many power cycles, a forced update, though I doubt this box gets any new updates. So I thought it unlikely Sky broke the network card with an update.

I reluctantly resolved that the network adaptor inside the Sky+ HD box had a hardware fault and at this stage I'm not looking to replace it, I'm not convinced by Sky Q yet and may move house soon, didn't want to have to buy a new one, plus there's the recordings.

Suddenly today after a power cut I noticed it was now working, granted I hadn't checked it in a while so could have been working earlier.

Could it be its still getting small maintenance updates? Sky broke the network software and now they've fixed it?

Did anyone else experience this on their Sky+HD box?

Sky+ HD
      Model Number: R010.070.91.00P
      Version Number: 4F3001
      Manufacturer: Amstrad
      Common name: DRX780
      AJStevens

Sky+HD Multi-room
      DRX895