Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Anytime + at different location

    This is a discussion on Anytime + at different location within the Sky Anytime + forums, part of the Sky On Demand category; Hi everyone. I've took one of my boxes to my caravan(mutiroom set up) and i have internet there. is it ...

    1. #1
      jayhayes's Avatar
      jayhayes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2015
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anytime + at different location

      Hi everyone. I've took one of my boxes to my caravan(mutiroom set up) and i have internet there. is it possible to plug in for anytime or will sky know i have took the box away from the house?

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Anytime + at different location

      As long as you can get the box to initialize, you should be OK for a short period. An extended period will be picked up by Sky as they will detect you are not plugged into your own Network. You would then be sent warning letters/emails after which you will be charged the full amount on the box.

      It may be better to download the programs you want to see on to your Laptop or Tablet. As you have Sky Go Extra free through having Multiroom/Multiscreen, you would be able to do this. http://go.sky.com/downloads

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      jayhayes's Avatar
      jayhayes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2015
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime + at different location

      how do they know what networks is what i may have a fixed line or two lines in my house? how can they see? can you copy your ip from your home router?

    5. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Anytime + at different location

      Only Sky know what they have inside thier little boxes

      IP addresses are Geo locatable, so if they know what the WAN address is that the packet came from, they will know the location. I expect they would also want to see the data from both boxes coming from the same WAN IP, if not I reckon they would already have been in touch.

      Might work if you set up a VPN though, now there's a thought.

      Edit...

      Even if you're on a dynamic address from another ISP Sky can & will work out where your receivers are, not all the time, probably just a random check now and then hence Isitme saying you could be OK for a limited period.
      Last edited by marjohn56; 14-12-15 at 02:09 PM. Reason: afterthought....
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    6. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,456
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Anytime + at different location

      When multiroom verification used to rely on calling line identification (CLI) subscribers with two lines would often receive violation notices where both boxes were connected to different lines. Quite how it works with IP addresses I do not know but rest assured there must be a way or else Sky would not have relaxed its telephone line connection policy.

    7. #6
      jayhayes's Avatar
      jayhayes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2015
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anytime + at different location

      is it easy to set up a vpn both netgear ?

    8. #7
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Anytime + at different location

      Depends on the netgear models. I'm not saying it WILL work, just that it stands a chance. Basically, you route everything from your caravan through your home internet connection, Sky should see all data coming from the home IP.

      Certainly works with Sky Go ( when we are abroad ) as many of us will testify.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION